CHAPTER 1 ABSTRACTS OF CASES BY RULE NUMBER
Section 1 enables readers to find the cases that interpret a particular rule. For
example, Cases 15 and 17 interpret rule 13. The abstracts for those cases are
in this section under the heading Rule 13, While Tacking. A case’s abstract
may not mention every rule that is interpreted by the case; therefore readers
must study the case itself, in Section 2, to see how the rule has been interpreted
or illustrated.
DEFINITIONS
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it
is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing courses, provided that an overlap
exists when the first of them reaches the zone.
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that passes between
two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10 requires both port-tack boats to keep
clear.
When a boat approaching an obstruction hails for room to tack, but does so
before the time when she needs to begin the process described in rule 20 to
avoid the obstruction safely, she breaks rule 20.1(a). However, even if the hail
breaks rule 20.1(a), the hailed boat must respond. An inside overlapped boat is
entitled to room between the outside boat and an obstruction under rule 19.2(b)
even though she has tacked into the inside overlapping position.
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction and Clear
Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the
same tack overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack. There
is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is prudent to do so.
A close-hauled port-tack boat that is sailing parallel and close to an obstruction
must keep clear of a boat that has completed her tack to starboard and is
approaching on a collision course.
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another boat’s equipment out
of its normal position when the equipment has been out of its normal position
long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
When a boat fails to finish correctly because of a race committee error, but
none of the boats racing gains or loses as a result, an appropriate and fair form
of redress is to score all the boats in the order they crossed the finishing line.
If a buoy or other object specified in the sailing instructions as a finishing-line
limit mark is on the post-finish side of the finishing line, a boat may leave it on
either side.
When a finishing line is laid so nearly in line with the last leg that it cannot be
determined which is the correct way to cross it in order to finish according to
the definition, a boat may cross the line in either direction and her finish is to
be recorded accordingly.
A boat that makes, and does not correct, an error in sailing the course does not
break rule 28.1 until she finishes. If a boat makes such an error, a second boat
may notify the first that she intends to protest before the first boat finishes, or
at the first reasonable opportunity after the first boat finishes.
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under rule 28.1 in sailing
the course and fail to correct that error, it is required to score her NSC. If it
observes a boat touch a mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing
position and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing
mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying
flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark
on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave
it if the course had not been shortened.
A boat’s string, described in the definition Sail the Course, when drawn taut, is
to lie in navigable water only.
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides with the boat clear
ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was applicable before the collision
occurred. A boat that loses right of way by unintentionally changing tack is
nevertheless required to keep clear.
When a protest committee finds that in a port-starboard incident S did not
change course and that there was not a genuine and reasonable apprehension
of collision on the part of S, it should dismiss her protest. When the committee
finds that S did change course and that there was reasonable doubt that P could
have crossed ahead of S if S had not changed course, then P should be
disqualified.
Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes touching it. A boat
obligated to keep clear does not break a rule when touched by a right-of-way
boat’s equipment that moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other
boat is not keeping clear.
A boat may avoid contact and yet fail to keep clear.
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another boat’s equipment out
of its normal position when the equipment has been out of its normal position
long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
Discussion of the decisions that a protest committee must make if a boat breaks
a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear, and the right-of way boat, or a third
boat, requests redress under rule 62.1(b).
If a buoy or other object specified in the sailing instructions as a finishing-line
limit mark is on the post-finish side of the finishing line, a boat may leave it
on either side.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
When a right-of-way boat is obligated to give mark-room to a boat overlapped
inside her, there is no maximum or minimum amount of space that she must
give. The amount of space that she must give depends significantly on the
existing conditions including wind and sea conditions, the speed of the inside
boat, the sails she has set and her design characteristics.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she
may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for
her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
In the definition Mark-Room, the phrase ‘room to sail to the mark’ means space
to sail promptly in a seamanlike way to a position close to, and on the required
side of, the mark.
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a
right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room between her
and the obstruction.
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that passes between
two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10 requires both port-tack boats to keep
clear.
A leeward boat is an obstruction to an overlapped windward boat and a third
boat clear astern. The boat clear astern may sail between the two overlapped
boats and be entitled to room from the windward boat between her and the
leeward boat, provided that the windward boat has been able to give that room
from the time the overlap began.
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction and Clear
Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the
same tack overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack. There
is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is prudent to do so.
When three boats are on the same tack and two of them are overlapped and
overtaking the third from clear astern, if the leeward boat astern becomes
overlapped with the boat ahead, the boat ahead is no longer an obstruction, and
rule 19.2(b) does not apply. There are no situations in which a row of boats
sailing close to one another is a continuing obstruction.
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to one or more inside
boats to pass an obstruction, the space she gives must be sufficient to permit
all the inside boats to comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
When a starboard-tack boat chooses to sail past a windward mark, a port-tack
boat must keep clear. There is no rule that requires a boat to sail a proper course.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even when she has
established a leeward overlap from clear astern and within two of her hull
lengths of the windward boat.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
A boat’s proper course at any moment depends on the existing conditions.
Some of those conditions are the wind strength and direction, the pattern of
gusts and lulls in the wind, the waves, the current, and the physical
characteristics of the boat’s hull and equipment, including the sails she is using.
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does not break rule
42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line to recover the anchor, she
returns to her position at the time the anchor was lowered. However, if pulling
in the anchor line clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those
rules.
The failure of a race committee to discover that a rating certificate is invalid
does not entitle a boat to redress. A boat that may have broken a rule and that
continues to race retains her rights under the racing rules, including her rights
under the rules of Part 2 and her rights to protest and appeal, even if she is later
disqualified.
A boat clears the finishing line and marks when no part of her hull, crew or
equipment is on the line, and no mark is influencing her choice of course.
When a right-of-way boat is obligated to give mark-room to a boat overlapped
inside her, there is no maximum or minimum amount of space that she must
give. The amount of space that she must give depends significantly on the
existing conditions including wind and sea conditions, the speed of the inside
boat, the sails she has set and her design characteristics.
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern, the other boat
must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot do so in a seamanlike way,
she has not been given room as required by rule 15.
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to leeward of another
boat and there is no seamanlike action that would enable the other boat to keep
clear, the boat that luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule
11, but is exonerated.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
The phrase ‘seamanlike way’ in the definition Room refers to boat-handling
that can reasonably be expected from a competent, but not expert, crew of the
appropriate number for the boat.
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for
her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
In the definition Mark-Room, the phrase ‘room to sail to the mark’ means space
to sail promptly in a seamanlike way to a position close to, and on the required
side of, the mark.
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to one or more inside
boats to pass an obstruction, the space she gives must be sufficient to permit
all the inside boats to comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
If a racing rule is not one of the rules listed in rule 86.1(c), class rules are not
permitted to change it. If a class rule attempts to change such a rule, that class
rule is not valid and does not apply.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
When a boat’s string passes a mark on the required side, she does not break
rule 28.2 if her string, when drawn taut, also passes that mark on the nonrequired
side.
When the string representing a boat’s track lies on the required sides of
finishing marks or gate marks, it is not relevant that, when drawn taut, it also
passes one of those marks on the non-required side.
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full
360° turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the
mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack
and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark
and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.
A boat that makes, and does not correct, an error in sailing the course does not
break rule 28.1 until she finishes. If a boat makes such an error, a second boat
may notify the first that she intends to protest before the first boat finishes, or
at the first reasonable opportunity after the first boat finishes.
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under rule 28.1 in sailing
the course and fail to correct that error, it is required to score her NSC. If it
observes a boat touch a mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing
position and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
A boat’s string, described in the definition Sail the Course, when drawn taut, is
to lie in navigable water only.
How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross the starting line by
another boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2.
Sportsmanship and the Rules
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
A race committee is not required to protest a boat. The primary responsibility
for enforcing the rules lies with the competitors.
When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag rule, she is obliged to
retire promptly. When she does not do so and then deliberately hinders another
boat in the race, she commits a breach of sportsmanship and of rule 2, and her
helmsman commits an act of misconduct.
PART 1 – FUNDAMENTAL RULES
When it is possible that a boat is in danger, another boat that gives help is
entitled to redress, even if her help was not asked for or if it is later found that
there was no danger.
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break a rule. When a
boat acquires right of way as a result of her own actions, the other boat is
entitled to room to keep clear.
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the basis for granting
redress and for action under rule 69.2.
A boat that deliberately hails ‘Starboard’ when she knows she is on port tack
has not acted fairly, and has broken rule 2.
When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag rule, she is obliged to
retire promptly. When she does not do so and then deliberately hinders another
boat in the race, she commits a breach of sportsmanship and of rule 2, and her
helmsman commits an act of misconduct.
When, by deliberate action, L’s crew reaches out and touches W, which action
could have no other intention than to cause W to break rule 11, then L breaks
rule 2.
There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew of a leeward boat must
sit. Contact with a windward boat does not break rule 2 unless the helmsman’s
or crew’s position is deliberately misused.
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing under a handicap
or rating system, a boat may use tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder
another boat’s progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under rule
2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance
of her tactics benefiting her final ranking in the event. However, she breaks
rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she intentionally
breaks a rule.
Generally, an action by a competitor that directly affects the fairness of the
competition or failing to take an appropriate penalty when the competitor is
aware of breaking a rule, should be considered under rule 2. Any action,
including a serious breach of rule 2 or any other rule, that the committee
considers may be an act of misconduct should be considered under rule 69.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class event, abandonment
may be suitable for some classes, but not for all.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
When the organizing authority for an event is not an organization specified in
rule 89.1, a party to a hearing does not have access to the appeal process.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
When a boat is racing and meets a vessel that is not, both are bound by the
government right-of-way rules. When, under those rules, the boat racing is
required to keep clear but intentionally hits the other boat, her helmsman
commits an act of misconduct.
The failure of a race committee to discover that a rating certificate is invalid
does not entitle a boat to redress. A boat that may have broken a rule and that
continues to race retains her rights under the racing rules, including her rights
under the rules of Part 2 and her rights to protest and appeal, even if she is later
disqualified.
TheIRPCAS or government right-of-way rules apply between boats that are
racing only if a rule in the notice of race says so, and in that case all of the Part 2 rules are replaced. An IRPCAS or government rule, other than a right-of-way
rule, may be made to apply by including it in the notice of race, the sailing
instructions or another document governing the event.
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
When a starboard-tack boat chooses to sail past a windward mark, a port-tack
boat must keep clear. There is no rule that requires a boat to sail a proper course.
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that passes between
two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10 requires both port-tack boats to keep
clear.
CASE 43
A close-hauled port-tack boat that is sailing parallel and close to an obstruction
must keep clear of a boat that has completed her tack to starboard and is
approaching on a collision course.
When a protest committee finds that in a port-starboard incident S did not
change course and that there was not a genuine and reasonable apprehension
of collision on the part of S, it should dismiss her protest. When the committee
finds that S did change course and that there was reasonable doubt that P could
have crossed ahead of S if S had not changed course, then P should be
disqualified.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other
boat is not keeping clear.
A boat may avoid contact and yet fail to keep clear.
9
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control does not entitle her
to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part 2. When a right-of-way boat becomes
obliged by rule 14 to ‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only
way to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she does not crashgybe.
When a boat’s penalty under rule 44.1(b) is to retire, and she does so
(whether because of choice or necessity), she cannot then be disqualified.
When two boats are running on opposite tacks, the starboard-tack boat may
change course provided she gives the port-tack boat room to keep clear.
When it would be clear to a competent, but not expert, sailor at the helm of a
starboard-tack boat that there is substantial risk of contact with a port-tack boat,
the starboard-tack boat breaks rule 14 if contact occurs and there was still time
for her to change course sufficiently to avoid the contact.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, her obligation to give a keep-clear
boat room to keep clear under rule 16.1 begins. The right-of-way boat may give
that room by making an additional change of course. If, while the right-of-way
boat is making that additional change of course, the keep-clear boat
unavoidably breaks a rule of Part 2 Section A, the keep-clear boat is exonerated
by rule 43.1(b).
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it
is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing courses, provided that an overlap
exists when the first of them reaches the zone.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
4
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern, the other boat
must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot do so in a seamanlike way,
she has not been given room as required by rule 15.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction and Clear
Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the
same tack overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack. There
is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is prudent to do so.
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even when she has
established a leeward overlap from clear astern and within two of her hull
lengths of the windward boat.
A protest committee must find that boats were exonerated at the time of the
incident when, as a result of another boat’s breach of a rule, they were
compelled to break a rule.
5
LA boat clear ahead need not take any action to keep clear before being
overlapped to leeward from clear astern.
7
When, by deliberate action, L’s crew reaches out and touches W, which action
could have no other intention than to cause W to break rule 11, then L breaks
rule 2.
There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew of a leeward boat must
sit. Contact with a windward boat does not break rule 2 unless the helmsman’s
or crew’s position is deliberately misused.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern, the other boat
must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot do so in a seamanlike way,
she has not been given room as required by rule 15.
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction and Clear
Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the
same tack overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack. There
is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is prudent to do so.
Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes touching it. A boat
obligated to keep clear does not break a rule when touched by a right-of-way
boat’s equipment that moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another boat’s equipment out
of its normal position when the equipment has been out of its normal position
long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
A boat is no longer subject to rule 13 when she is on a close-hauled course,
regardless of her movement through the water or the sheeting of her sails.
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break a rule. When a
boat acquires right of way as a result of her own actions, the other boat is
entitled to room to keep clear.
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a
right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room between her
and the obstruction.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that passes between
two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10 requires both port-tack boats to keep
clear.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is clear that the
other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the right-of-way boat could then
have avoided the collision and the collision resulted in damage, she must be
penalized for breaking rule 14.
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break a rule. When a
boat acquires right of way as a result of her own actions, the other boat is
entitled to room to keep clear
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides with the boat clear
ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was applicable before the collision
occurred. A boat that loses right of way by unintentionally changing tack is
nevertheless required to keep clear.
A close-hauled port-tack boat that is sailing parallel and close to an obstruction
must keep clear of a boat that has completed her tack to starboard and is
approaching on a collision course.
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very closely connected
incidents, they should be heard together in the presence of representatives of
all the boats involved.
When a protest committee finds that in a port-starboard incident S did not
change course and that there was not a genuine and reasonable apprehension
of collision on the part of S, it should dismiss her protest. When the committee
finds that S did change course and that there was reasonable doubt that P could
have crossed ahead of S if S had not changed course, then P should be
disqualified.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes touching it. A boat
obligated to keep clear does not break a rule when touched by a right-of-way
boat’s equipment that moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes head to wind, rule
18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must comply with the applicable rule of Section
A.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other
boat is not keeping clear.
A boat may avoid contact and yet fail to keep clear.
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another boat’s equipment out
of its normal position when the equipment has been out of its normal position
long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, the keep-clear boat is required to act
only in response to what the right-of-way boat is doing at the time, not what
the right-of-way boat might do subsequently.
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control does not entitle her
to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part 2. When a right-of-way boat becomes
obliged by rule 14 to ‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only
way to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she does not crashgybe.
When a boat’s penalty under rule 44.1(b) is to retire, and she does so
(whether because of choice or necessity), she cannot then be disqualified.
When two boats are running on opposite tacks, the starboard-tack boat may
change course provided she gives the port-tack boat room to keep clear.
During the starting sequence, a boat that is not keeping a lookout may thereby
fail to do everything reasonably possible to avoid contact. Hailing is one way
that a boat may ‘act to avoid contact’. When a boat’s breach of a rule of Part 2
causes serious damage and she then retires, she has taken the applicable penalty
and is not to be disqualified for that breach.
When it would be clear to a competent, but not expert, sailor at the helm of a
starboard-tack boat that there is substantial risk of contact with a port-tack boat,
the starboard-tack boat breaks rule 14 if contact occurs and there was still time
for her to change course sufficiently to avoid the contact.
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern, the other boat
must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot do so in a seamanlike way,
she has not been given room as required by rule 15.
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break a rule. When a
boat acquires right of way as a result of her own actions, the other boat is
entitled to room to keep clear.
A boat clear ahead need not take any action to keep clear before being
overlapped to leeward from clear astern.
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes head to wind, rule
18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must comply with the applicable rule of Section
A.
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to leeward of another
boat and there is no seamanlike action that would enable the other boat to keep
clear, the boat that luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule
11, but is exonerated.
When two boats are running on opposite tacks, the starboard-tack boat may
change course provided she gives the port-tack boat room to keep clear.
When three boats are on the same tack and two of them are overlapped and
overtaking the third from clear astern, if the leeward boat astern becomes
overlapped with the boat ahead, the boat ahead is no longer an obstruction, and
rule 19.2(b) does not apply. There are no situations in which a row of boats
sailing close to one another is a continuing obstruction.
A starboard-tack boat that tacks after a port-tack boat has borne away to go
astern of her does not necessarily break a rule.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is clear that the
other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the right-of-way boat could then
have avoided the collision and the collision resulted in damage, she must be
penalized for breaking rule 14.
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even when she has
established a leeward overlap from clear astern and within two of her hull
lengths of the windward boat.
Rule 16.1 does not restrict the course of a keep-clear boat. Manoeuvring to
drive another boat away from the starting line does not necessarily break this
rule.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, the keep-clear boat is required to act
only in response to what the right-of-way boat is doing at the time, not what
the right-of-way boat might do subsequently.
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to leeward of another
boat and there is no seamanlike action that would enable the other boat to keep
clear, the boat that luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule
11, but is exonerated.
When two boats are running on opposite tacks, the starboard-tack boat may
change course provided she gives the port-tack boat room to keep clear.
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for
her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, her obligation to give a keep-clear
boat room to keep clear under rule 16.1 begins. The right-of-way boat may give
that room by making an additional change of course. If, while the right-of-way
boat is making that additional change of course, the keep-clear boat
unavoidably breaks a rule of Part 2 Section A, the keep-clear boat is exonerated
by rule 43.1(b).
A starboard-tack boat that tacks after a port-tack boat has borne away to go
astern of her does not necessarily break a rule.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, the keep-clear boat is required to act
only in response to what the right-of-way boat is doing at the time, not what
the right-of-way boat might do subsequently.
Interpretation of the phrase ‘on a beat to windward’.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even when she has
established a leeward overlap from clear astern and within two of her hull
lengths of the windward boat.
A boat’s proper course at any moment depends on the existing conditions.
Some of those conditions are the wind strength and direction, the pattern of
gusts and lulls in the wind, the waves, the current, and the physical
characteristics of the boat’s hull and equipment, including the sails she is using.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
When a starboard-tack boat chooses to sail past a windward mark, a port-tack
boat must keep clear. There is no rule that requires a boat to sail a proper course.
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it
is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing courses, provided that an overlap
exists when the first of them reaches the zone.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is clear that the
other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the right-of-way boat could then
have avoided the collision and the collision resulted in damage, she must be
penalized for breaking rule 14.
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes head to wind, rule
18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must comply with the applicable rule of Section
A.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
Interpretation of the phrase ‘on a beat to windward’.
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
When a boat comes abreast of a mark but is outside the zone, and when her
change of course towards the mark results in a boat that is in the zone and that
was previously clear astern becoming overlapped inside her, rule 18.2(a)
requires her to give mark-room to that boat, whether or not her distance from
the mark was caused by giving mark-room to other boats overlapped inside
her.
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it
is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing courses, provided that an overlap
exists when the first of them reaches the zone.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
When a boat comes abreast of a mark but is outside the zone, and when her
change of course towards the mark results in a boat that is in the zone and that
was previously clear astern becoming overlapped inside her, rule 18.2(a)
requires her to give mark-room to that boat, whether or not her distance from
the mark was caused by giving mark-room to other boats overlapped inside
her.
At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she
may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes head to wind, rule
18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must comply with the applicable rule of Section
A.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for
her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
In the definition Mark-Room, the phrase ‘room to sail to the mark’ means space
to sail promptly in a seamanlike way to a position close to, and on the required
side of, the mark.
At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she
may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space.
In tacking to round a mark, a boat clear ahead must comply with rule 13; a boat
clear astern is entitled to hold her course and thereby prevent the other from
tacking.
When a boat entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) passes head to wind, rule
18.2(b) ceases to apply and she must comply with the applicable rule of Section
A.
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to leeward of another
boat and there is no seamanlike action that would enable the other boat to keep
clear, the boat that luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule
11, but is exonerated.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
When rule 18 applies, the rules of Sections A and B apply as well. When an
inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark, she is entitled to sail
her proper course until she gybes. A starboard-tack boat that changes course
does not break rule 16.1 if she gives a port-tack boat adequate space to keep
clear and the port-tack boat fails to take advantage of it promptly.
On a run, rule 19 does not apply to a starboard-tack boat that passes between
two port-tack boats ahead of her. Rule 10 requires both port-tack boats to keep
clear.
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides with the boat clear
ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was applicable before the collision
occurred. A boat that loses right of way by unintentionally changing tack is
nevertheless required to keep clear.
A leeward port-tack boat, hailing for room to tack when faced with an
oncoming starboard-tack boat, an obstruction, is not required to anticipate that
the windward boat will fail to comply with her obligation to tack promptly or
otherwise provide room.
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a
right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room between her
and the obstruction.
A leeward boat is an obstruction to an overlapped windward boat and a third
boat clear astern. The boat clear astern may sail between the two overlapped
boats and be entitled to room from the windward boat between her and the
leeward boat, provided that the windward boat has been able to give that room
from the time the overlap began.
When a boat approaching an obstruction hails for room to tack, but does so
before the time when she needs to begin the process described in rule 20 to
avoid the obstruction safely, she breaks rule 20.1(a). However, even if the hail
breaks rule 20.1(a), the hailed boat must respond. An inside overlapped boat is
entitled to room between the outside boat and an obstruction under rule 19.2(b)
even though she has tacked into the inside overlapping position.
A discussion of how rule 19.2(b) and the definitions Obstruction and Clear
Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap apply when two overlapped boats on the
same tack overtake and pass to leeward of a boat ahead on the same tack. There
is no obligation to hail for room at an obstruction, but it is prudent to do so.
A close-hauled port-tack boat that is sailing parallel and close to an obstruction
must keep clear of a boat that has completed her tack to starboard and is
approaching on a collision course.
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very closely connected
incidents, they should be heard together in the presence of representatives of
all the boats involved.
When three boats are on the same tack and two of them are overlapped and
overtaking the third from clear astern, if the leeward boat astern becomes
overlapped with the boat ahead, the boat ahead is no longer an obstruction, and
rule 19.2(b) does not apply. There are no situations in which a row of boats
sailing close to one another is a continuing obstruction.
At any point in time while two boats are approaching an obstruction, the rightof-
way boat at that moment may choose to pass the obstruction on either side
provided that she can then comply with the applicable rules.
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to one or more inside
boats to pass an obstruction, the space she gives must be sufficient to permit
all the inside boats to comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
A leeward port-tack boat, hailing for room to tack when faced with an
oncoming starboard-tack boat, an obstruction, is not required to anticipate that
the windward boat will fail to comply with her obligation to tack promptly or
otherwise provide room.
If a boat hails for room to tack when she is neither approaching an obstruction
nor sailing close-hauled or above, she breaks rule 20.1. The hailed boat is
required to respond even if the hail breaks rule 20.1.
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a
right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room between her
and the obstruction.
When a boat approaching an obstruction hails for room to tack, but does so
before the time when she needs to begin the process described in rule 20 to
avoid the obstruction safely, she breaks rule 20.1(a). However, even if the hail
breaks rule 20.1(a), the hailed boat must respond. An inside overlapped boat is
entitled to room between the outside boat and an obstruction under rule 19.2(b)
even though she has tacked into the inside overlapping position.
When a boat is hailed for room to tack at an obstruction and replies ‘You tack’,
and the hailing boat is then able to tack and avoid the hailed boat in a
seamanlike way, the hailed boat has complied with rule 20.2(c).
Interpretation of rule 20’s requirements for hails and signals and their timing.
When a boat with right of way is required to give another boat room for a
manoeuvre, right of way does not transfer to the boat entitled to room. When,
in reply to her call for room to tack when approaching an obstruction, a boat is
hailed ‘You tack’, and when she does so and is then able to tack again to keep
clear in a seamanlike way, the other boat has given the room required.
An explanation of the application of rule 20 when three boats sailing closehauled
on the same tack are approaching an obstruction and the leeward-most
boat hails for room to tack, but cannot tack unless both boats to windward of
her tack.
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does not break rule
42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line to recover the anchor, she
returns to her position at the time the anchor was lowered. However, if pulling
in the anchor line clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those
rules.
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very closely connected
incidents, they should be heard together in the presence of representatives of
all the boats involved.
For the purpose of determining whether rule 23.2 applies to an incident, a boat
is sailing on the leg which is consistent with her course immediately before the
incident and her reasons for sailing that course.
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
A boat that makes, and does not correct, an error in sailing the course does not
break rule 28.1 until she finishes. If a boat makes such an error, a second boat
may notify the first that she intends to protest before the first boat finishes, or
at the first reasonable opportunity after the first boat finishes.
When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes another to touch a mark,
the other boat is exonerated. The fact that a starting mark has moved, for
whatever reason, does not relieve a boat of her obligation to start. A race
committee may abandon under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark’s
position has directly affected the safety or fairness of the competition.
If a buoy or other object specified in the sailing instructions as a finishing-line
limit mark is on the post-finish side of the finishing line, a boat may leave it on
either side.
When a boat’s string passes a mark on the required side, she does not break
rule 28.2 if her string, when drawn taut, also passes that mark on the nonrequired
side.
When the string representing a boat’s track lies on the required sides of
finishing marks or gate marks, it is not relevant that, when drawn taut, it also
passes one of those marks on the non-required side.
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full
360° turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the
mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack
and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark
and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under rule 28.1 in sailing
the course and fail to correct that error, it is required to score her NSC. If it
observes a boat touch a mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing
position and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing
mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying
flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark
on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave
it if the course had not been shortened.
A boat’s string, described in the definition Sail the Course, when drawn taut, is
to lie in navigable water only.
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
When a boat has no reason to know that part of her hull crossed the starting
line early and the race committee fails to signal ‘Individual recall’ promptly,
yet scores her OCS, this is an error that significantly worsens the boat’s score
through no fault of her own, and therefore entitles her to redress.
In finding facts, a protest committee will be governed by the weight of
evidence. In general, a race committee member sighting the starting line is
better placed than any competing boat to decide whether a boat was over the
line at the starting signal and, if so, whether she returned to the pre-start side
and started.
When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag rule, she is obliged to
retire promptly. When she does not do so and then deliberately hinders another
boat in the race, she commits a breach of sportsmanship and of rule 2, and her
helmsman commits an act of misconduct.
When after a general recall a boat learns from seeing her sail number displayed
that she has been disqualified by the race committee under the second sentence
of rule 30.4 and believes the race committee has made a mistake, her only
option is not to start, and then to seek redress. However, if the race committee
does not display her sail number and she sails in the restarted race, she should
be scored BFD, and not DNE.
If a boat breaks rule 30.2 or rule 30.4 during a starting sequence that results in
a general recall, the race committee is required to penalize her even if the race
had been postponed before that starting sequence or if, during a later starting
sequence, a postponement was signalled before the starting signal.
How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross the starting line by
another boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2.
Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes touching it. A boat
obligated to keep clear does not break a rule when touched by a right-of-way
boat’s equipment that moves unexpectedly out of normal position.
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full
360° turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the
mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack
and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark
and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.
When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for
her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under rule 28.1 in sailing
the course and fail to correct that error, it is required to score her NSC. If it
observes a boat touch a mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing
position and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes another to touch a mark,
the other boat is exonerated. The fact that a starting mark has moved, for
whatever reason, does not relieve a boat of her obligation to start. A race
committee may abandon under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark’s
position has directly affected the safety or fairness of the competition.
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class event, abandonment
may be suitable for some classes, but not for all.
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing
mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying
flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark
on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave
it if the course had not been shortened.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing under a handicap
or rating system, a boat may use tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder
another boat’s progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under rule
2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance
of her tactics benefiting her final ranking in the event. However, she breaks
rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she intentionally
breaks a rule.
When a boat asks for and receives tactical racing advice she receives outside
help, even if she asks for and receives it on a public radio channel.
‘Information freely available’ in rule 41(c) is information that is available
without monetary cost and that may be easily obtained by all boats in a race.
Rule 41(c) is a rule that may be changed for an event provided that the
procedure established in the rules is followed.
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does not break rule
42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line to recover the anchor, she
returns to her position at the time the anchor was lowered. However, if pulling
in the anchor line clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those
rules.
Repeated helm movements to position a boat to gain speed on each of a series
of waves generated by a passing vessel are not sculling unless they are forceful,
and the increase in speed is the result of a permitted use of the water to increase
speed.
Momentum of a boat after her preparatory signal that is the result of being
propelled by her engine before the signal does not break rule 42.1.
When boats are overlapped at an obstruction, including an obstruction that is a
right-of-way boat, the outside boat must give the inside boat room between her
and the obstruction.
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it
is irrelevant that boats are on widely differing courses, provided that an overlap
exists when the first of them reaches the zone.
After an inside overlapped windward boat has been given mark-room, rule 18
no longer applies, but rule 11 continues to apply. The inside windward boat
must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the leeward boat may luff
provided that she gives the windward boat room to keep clear.
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will break a rule. When a
boat acquires right of way as a result of her own actions, the other boat is
entitled to room to keep clear.
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides with the boat clear
ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was applicable before the collision
occurred. A boat that loses right of way by unintentionally changing tack is
nevertheless required to keep clear.
A leeward port-tack boat, hailing for room to tack when faced with an
oncoming starboard-tack boat, an obstruction, is not required to anticipate that
the windward boat will fail to comply with her obligation to tack promptly or
otherwise provide room.
When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes another to touch a mark,
the other boat is exonerated. The fact that a starting mark has moved, for
whatever reason, does not relieve a boat of her obligation to start. A race
committee may abandon under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark’s
position has directly affected the safety or fairness of the competition.
A boat clear astern that is required to keep clear but collides with the boat clear
ahead breaks the right-of-way rule that was applicable before the collision
occurred. A boat that loses right of way by unintentionally changing tack is
nevertheless required to keep clear.
A protest committee must find that boats were exonerated at the time of the
incident when, as a result of another boat’s breach of a rule, they were
compelled to break a rule.
A boat required to keep clear must keep clear of another boat’s equipment out
of its normal position when the equipment has been out of its normal position
long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided.
How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross the starting line by
another boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
When a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern, the other boat
must act promptly to keep clear. When she cannot do so in a seamanlike way,
she has not been given room as required by rule 15.
When an inside overlapped windward boat that is entitled to mark-room takes
more space than she is entitled to, she must keep clear of the outside leeward
boat, and the outside boat may luff provided that she gives the inside boat room
to keep clear.
At a mark, when space is made available to a boat that is not entitled to it, she
may, at her own risk, take advantage of the space.
Keď pri značke vznikne miesto pre loď, ktorá naň nemá právo, tak ho môže na vlastné riziko využiť.
If a boat luffs immediately after she becomes overlapped to leeward of another
boat and there is no seamanlike action that would enable the other boat to keep
clear, the boat that luffs breaks rules 15 and 16.1. The other boat breaks rule
11, but is exonerated.
If two overlapped boats on the same tack are on a beat to windward and are
subject to rule 18.2(b), rule 18 ceases to apply when either of them turns past
head to wind. When a boat is required to give another boat mark-room, the
space she must give includes space for the other boat to comply with rule 31.
When the boat entitled to mark-room is compelled to touch the mark while
sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is exonerated for her
breach of rule 31.
At any point in time while two boats are approaching an obstruction, the rightof-
way boat at that moment may choose to pass the obstruction on either side
provided that she can then comply with the applicable rules.
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to one or more inside
boats to pass an obstruction, the space she gives must be sufficient to permit
all the inside boats to comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
When boats are approaching a starting mark to start and a leeward boat luffs,
the windward boat is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) if she breaks rule 11 while
sailing within the room to which she is entitled under rule 16.1.
When a right-of-way boat changes course, her obligation to give a keep-clear
boat room to keep clear under rule 16.1 begins. The right-of-way boat may give
that room by making an additional change of course. If, while the right-of-way
boat is making that additional change of course, the keep-clear boat
unavoidably breaks a rule of Part 2 Section A, the keep-clear boat is exonerated
by rule 43.1(b).
If the first of two boats to reach the zone is clear astern when she reaches it and
if later the boats are overlapped when the other boat reaches the zone, rule
18.2(a), and not rule 18.2(b), applies. Rule 18.2(a) applies only while boats are
overlapped and at least one of them is in the zone.
When, after having been clear astern, a boat becomes overlapped to leeward
within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, the windward boat must keep
clear, but the leeward boat must initially give the windward boat room to keep
clear and must not sail above her proper course. The proper course of the
windward boat is not relevant.
Before her starting signal, a leeward boat does not break a rule by sailing a
course higher than the windward boat’s course.
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward boat’s proper course,
two boats on the same tack converge, the windward boat must keep clear. Two
boats on the same leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is clear that the
other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the right-of-way boat could then
have avoided the collision and the collision resulted in damage, she must be
penalized for breaking rule 14.
When an outside overlapped boat is required to give room to one or more inside
boats to pass an obstruction, the space she gives must be sufficient to permit
all the inside boats to comply with their obligations under the rules of Part 2.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control does not entitle her
to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part 2. When a right-of-way boat becomes
obliged by rule 14 to ‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only
way to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she does not crashgybe.
When a boat’s penalty under rule 44.1(b) is to retire, and she does so
(whether because of choice or necessity), she cannot then be disqualified.
During the starting sequence, a boat that is not keeping a lookout may thereby
fail to do everything reasonably possible to avoid contact. Hailing is one way
that a boat may ‘act to avoid contact’. When a boat’s breach of a rule of Part 2
causes serious damage and she then retires, she has taken the applicable penalty
and is not to be disqualified for that breach.
When taking a penalty after touching a mark, a boat need not complete a full
360° turn, and she may take her penalty while simultaneously rounding the
mark. Her turn to round the mark will serve as her penalty if it includes a tack
and a gybe, if it is carried out promptly after she is no longer touching the mark
and is well clear of other boats, and when no question of advantage arises.
Discussion of the decisions that a protest committee must make if a boat breaks
a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear, and the right-of way boat, or a third
boat, requests redress under rule 62.1(b).
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
A boat that is anchored during a race is still racing. A boat does not break rule
42.1 or rule 45 if, while pulling in her anchor line to recover the anchor, she
returns to her position at the time the anchor was lowered. However, if pulling
in the anchor line clearly propels her to a different position, she breaks those
rules.
Unless otherwise specifically stated in the class rules, notice of race or sailing
instructions, the owner or other person in charge of a boat is free to decide who
steers her in a race, provided that rule 46 is not broken.
A competitor may hold a sheet outboard.
Positioning of crew members relative to lifelines.
Repeated sail trimming with a competitor’s torso outside the lifelines is not
permitted.
Except on a windsurfer or a kiteboard, a competitor may not wear or otherwise
attach to his person a beverage container.
A competitor may hold a sheet outboard.
The use of a jockey pole attached to a spinnaker guy is permitted.
The IRPCAS or government right-of-way rules apply between boats that are
racing only if a rule in the notice of race says so, and in that case all of the Part
2 rules are replaced. An IRPCAS or government rule, other than a right-of-way
rule, may be made to apply by including it in the notice of race, the sailing
instructions or another document governing the event.
A boat that breaks a rule while racing but continues to race may protest over a
later incident, even though after the race she is penalized for her breach.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
A race committee is not required to protest a boat. The primary responsibility
for enforcing the rules lies with the competitors.
When a current, properly authenticated certificate has been presented in good
faith by an owner who has complied with the requirements of rule 78.1, the
final results of a race or series must stand, even though the certificate is later
withdrawn.
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
Discussion of the word ‘flag’.
If a racing rule is not one of the rules listed in rule 86.1(c), class rules are not
permitted to change it. If a class rule attempts to change such a rule, that class
rule is not valid and does not apply.
A boat that makes, and does not correct, an error in sailing the course does not
break rule 28 until she finishes. If a boat makes such an error, a second boat
may notify the first that she intends to protest before the first boat finishes, or
at the first reasonable opportunity after the first boat finishes.
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
It is not relevant to the validity of a protest that a rule the protestor believes
was broken is not one of the rules that the protest committee later determines
to have been broken.
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class event, abandonment
may be suitable for some classes, but not for all.
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross the starting line by
another boat that was breaking a rule of Part 2.
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class event, abandonment
may be suitable for some classes, but not for all.
When a boat fails to finish correctly because of a race committee error, but
none of the boats racing gains or loses as a result, an appropriate and fair form
of redress is to score all the boats in the order they crossed the finishing line.
The failure of a race committee to discover that a rating certificate is invalid
does not entitle a boat to redress. A boat that may have broken a rule and that
continues to race retains her rights under the racing rules, including her rights
under the rules of Part 2 and her rights to protest and appeal, even if she is later
disqualified.
When a finishing line is laid so nearly in line with the last leg that it cannot be
determined which is the correct way to cross it in order to finish according to
the definition, a boat may cross the line in either direction and her finish is to
be recorded accordingly.
When a race is conducted for boats racing under a rating system, the rating that
should be used to calculate a boat’s corrected time is her rating at the time the
race is sailed. Her score should not be changed if later the rating authority,
acting on its own volition, changes her rating.
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark becomes a finishing
mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race committee to position the vessel displaying
flag S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she leaves that mark
on the side opposite the side on which she would have been required to leave
it if the course had not been shortened.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
A boat physically damaged from contact with a boat that was penalized for
breaking a rule of Part 2 is eligible for redress only if the damage itself
significantly worsened her score or place. Contact is not necessary for one boat
to cause injury or physical damage to another. A worsening of a boat’s score
or place caused by an avoiding manoeuvre is not, by itself, grounds for redress.
‘Injury’ refers to bodily injury to a person and, in rule 62.1(b), ‘damage’ is
limited to physical damage to a boat or her equipment.
A discussion of redress in a situation in which a boat is damaged early in a
series, is entitled to redress under rule 62.1(b), and is prevented by the damage
from sailing the remaining races. In such a situation, to be fair to the other boats
in the series, the protest committee should ensure that fewer than half of the
race scores included in her series score, after any exclusion(s), are based on
average points.
Discussion of the decisions that a protest committee must make if a boat breaks
a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear, and the right-of way boat, or a third
boat, requests redress under rule 62.1(b).
When it is possible that a boat is in danger, another boat that gives help is
entitled to redress, even if her help was not asked for or if it is later found that
there was no danger.
Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the basis for granting
redress and for action under rule 69.2.
When a boat requests redress because of an incident she claims affected her
score in a race, and thus in a series, the time limit for making the request is the
time limit for the race, rather than a time limit based on the posting of the series
results.
A boat that breaks a rule while racing but continues to race may protest over a
later incident, even though after the race she is penalized for her breach.
Part 5 of the racing rules aims to protect a boat from being unfairly treated, not
to provide loopholes for protestees. A protestee has a duty to protect herself by
acting reasonably before a hearing.
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very closely connected
incidents, they should be heard together in the presence of representatives of
all the boats involved.
When two protests arise from the same incident, or from very closely connected
incidents, they should be heard together in the presence of representatives of
all the boats involved.
When deciding if a conflict of interest is significant, the *protest committee
should take into account the degree of conflict, the level of the event and the
overall perception of fairness.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
It is not relevant to the validity of a protest that a rule the protestor believes
was broken is not one of the rules that the protest committee later determines
to have been broken.
Interpretation of the term ‘serious’ in the phrase ‘serious damage’.
Attempting to distinguish between facts and conclusions in a protest
committee's findings is sometimes unsatisfactory because findings may be
based partially on fact and partially on a conclusion. A national authority can
change a protest committee’s decision and any other findings that involve
reasoning or judgment, but not its findings of fact. A national authority may
derive additional facts by logical deduction. Neither written facts nor
diagrammed facts take precedence over the other. Protest committees must
resolve conflicts between facts when so required by a national authority. zväz.
In finding facts, a protest committee will be governed by the weight of
evidence. In general, a race committee member sighting the starting line is
better placed than any competing boat to decide whether a boat was over the
line at the starting signal and, if so, whether she returned to the pre-start side
and started.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
Each race of an event is a separate race. In a multi-class event, abandonment
may be suitable for some classes, but not for all.
LoA boat that breaks a rule while racing but continues to race may protest over a
later incident, even though after the race she is penalized for her breach.
It is not relevant to the validity of a protest that a rule the protestor believes
was broken is not one of the rules that the protest committee later determines
to have been broken.
A right-of-way boat need not act to avoid a collision until it is clear that the
other boat is not keeping clear. However, if the right-of-way boat could then
have avoided the collision and the collision resulted in damage, she must be
penalized for breaking rule 14.
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control does not entitle her
to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part 2. When a right-of-way boat becomes
obliged by rule 14 to ‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only
way to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she does not crashgybe.
When a boat’s penalty under rule 44.1(b) is to retire, and she does so
(whether because of choice or necessity), she cannot then be disqualified.
During the starting sequence, a boat that is not keeping a lookout may thereby
fail to do everything reasonably possible to avoid contact. Hailing is one way
that a boat may ‘act to avoid contact’. When a boat’s breach of a rule of Part 2
causes serious damage and she then retires, she has taken the applicable penalty
and is not to be disqualified for that breach.
When the correct visual recall signal for individual recall is made but the
required sound signal is not, and when a recalled boat in a position to hear a
sound signal does not see the visual signal and does not return, she is entitled
to redress. However, if she realizes she is on the course side of the line she
must return and start correctly.
When a boat fails to finish correctly because of a race committee error, but
none of the boats racing gains or loses as a result, an appropriate and fair form
of redress is to score all the boats in the order they crossed the finishing line.
A discussion of redress in a situation in which a boat is damaged early in a
series, is entitled to redress under rule 62.1(b), and is prevented by the damage
from sailing the remaining races. In such a situation, to be fair to the other boats
in the series, the protest committee should ensure that fewer than half of the
race scores included in her series score, after any exclusion(s), are based on
average points.
Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
Rule 66, Znovuotvorenie rokovania
Interpretation of the word ‘new’ as used in rule 66.
Generally, an action by a competitor that directly affects the fairness of the
competition or failing to take an appropriate penalty when the competitor is
aware of breaking a rule, should be considered under rule 2. Any action,
including a serious breach of rule 2 or any other rule, that the committee
considers may be an act of misconduct should be considered under rule 69.
Rule 69.1(a), Zlé správanie: Zákaz zlého správania; Riešenie
In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats racing under a handicap
or rating system, a boat may use tactics that clearly interfere with and hinder
another boat’s progress in the race, provided that, if she is protested under rule
2 for doing so, the protest committee finds that there was a reasonable chance
of her tactics benefiting her final ranking in the event. However, she breaks
rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if while using those tactics she intentionally
breaks a rule.
Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the basis for granting
redress and for action under rule 69.2.
When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag rule, she is obliged to
retire promptly. When she does not do so and then deliberately hinders another
boat in the race, she commits a breach of sportsmanship and of rule 2, and her
helmsman commits an act of misconduct.
When a boat is racing and meets a vessel that is not, both are bound by the
government right-of-way rules. When, under those rules, the boat racing is
required to keep clear but intentionally hits the other boat, her helmsman
commits an act of misconduct.
An interpretation of the term ‘comfortable satisfaction’ and an example of its
use.
Examples illustrating when it would be ‘appropriate’ under rule 69.2(j)(3) to
report a rule 69 incident to a national authority or World Sailing.
Attempting to distinguish between facts and conclusions in a protest
committee's findings is sometimes unsatisfactory because findings may be
based partially on fact and partially on a conclusion. A national authority can
change a protest committee’s decision and any other findings that involve
reasoning or judgment, but not its findings of fact. A national authority may
derive additional facts by logical deduction. Neither written facts nor
diagrammed facts take precedence over the other. Protest committees must
resolve conflicts between facts when so required by a national authority.
When the organizing authority for an event is not an organization specified in
rule 89.1, a party to a hearing does not have access to the appeal process.
When the decision of a protest committee is changed or reversed upon appeal,
the final standings and the awards must be adjusted accordingly.
Unless otherwise specifically stated in the class rules, notice of race or sailing
instructions, the owner or other person in charge of a boat is free to decide who
steers her in a race, provided that rule 46 is not broken.
When the organizing authority for an event is not an organization specified in
rule 89.1, a party to a hearing does not have access to the appeal process.
When a current, properly authenticated certificate has been presented in good
faith by an owner who has complied with the requirements of rule 78.1, the
final results of a race or series must stand, even though the certificate is later
withdrawn.
If a boat has broken rule 78.2 by not producing a required certificate or
arranging for its existence to be verified before the start of the last day of an
event, the race committee is required, without a hearing, to score her ‘DSQ’ for
all races of the event.
The procedure that must be followed in order to change a racing rule for an
event is described in detail.
A competitor is entitled to look exclusively to the notice of race or to written
sailing instructions for all details relating to sailing the course.
If a racing rule is not one of the rules listed in rule 86.1(c), class rules are not
permitted to change it. If a class rule attempts to change such a rule, that class
rule is not valid and does not apply.
The procedure that must be followed in order to change a racing rule for an
event is described in detail.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
When the organizing authority for an event is not an organization specified in
rule 89.1, a party to a hearing does not have access to the appeal process.
Keď je rozhodnutie protestnej komisie zmenené alebo zrušené rozhodnutím v odvolaní, konečné výsledky a ceny sa musia podľa toho upraviť.
Bodovanie: Plachetné smernice
A competitor is entitled to look exclusively to the notice of race or to written
sailing instructions for all details relating to sailing the course.
When a race is conducted for boats racing under a rating system, the rating that
should be used to calculate a boat’s corrected time is her rating at the time the
race is sailed. Her score should not be changed if later the rating authority,
acting on its own volition, changes her rating.
Ak preteková komisia vidí, že loď urobila chybu podľa pravidla 28.1 pri preplachtení trate a nenapravila tú chybu, musí ju hodnotiť NSC. Ak vidí, že sa loď dotkla značky pri dokončení, musí ju hodnotiť podľa jej cieľového umiestnenia a môže na ňu protestovať pre porušenie pravidla 31.
When one boat breaks a rule and, as a result, causes another to touch a mark,
the other boat is exonerated. The fact that a starting mark has moved, for
whatever reason, does not relieve a boat of her obligation to start. A race
committee may abandon under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark’s
position has directly affected the safety or fairness of the competition.
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under rule 28.1 in sailing
the course and fail to correct that error, it is required to score her NSC. If it
observes a boat touch a mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing
position and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
If a boat has broken rule 78.2 by not producing a required certificate or
arranging for its existence to be verified before the start of the last day of an
event, the race committee is required, without a hearing, to score her ‘DSQ’ for
all races of the event.
A discussion of redress in a situation in which a boat is damaged early in a
series, is entitled to redress under rule 62.1(b), and is prevented by the damage
from sailing the remaining races. In such a situation, to be fair to the other boats
in the series, the protest committee should ensure that fewer than half of the
race scores included in her series score, after any exclusion(s), are based on
average points.
The rules listed in the definition Rule apply to races governed by The Racing
Rules of Sailing whether or not the notice of race explicitly states that they
apply. A rule in the notice of race or the sailing instructions, provided it is
consistent with any prescription to rule 88.2, may change some or all of the
prescriptions of the national authority. Generally, the notice of race may not
change a class rule. When a boat races under a handicapping or rating system,
the rules of that system apply, and some or all of her class rules may apply as
well. When the notice of race conflicts with the sailing instructions, neither
takes precedence.
The procedure that must be followed in order to change a racing rule for an
event is described in detail.
Attempting to distinguish between facts and conclusions in a protest
committee's findings is sometimes unsatisfactory because findings may be
based partially on fact and partially on a conclusion. A national authority can
change a protest committee’s decision and any other findings that involve
reasoning or judgment, but not its findings of fact. A national authority may
derive additional facts by logical deduction. Neither written facts nor
diagrammed facts take precedence over the other. Protest committees must
resolve conflicts between facts when so required by a national authority.