CASE 129
Definitions, Finish
Rule 28, Sailing the Race
Rule 32.2(a), Shortening or Abandoning after the Start
Rule 62.1(a), Redress
When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the mark
becomes a finishing mark. Rule 32.2(a) permits the race
committee to position the vessel displaying flag S at either
end of the finishing line. A boat must cross the line in
accordance with the definition Finish, even if in so doing she
leaves that mark on the side opposite the side on which she
would have been required to leave it if the course had not
been shortened.
Facts for Question 1
The sailing instructions state that all rounding marks, including the
windward mark, are to be left to port. Due to insufficient wind the race
committee shortens the course by displaying flag S (with two sounds) from
a staff on a committee vessel anchored near the windward mark.
The committee sets the finishing line as shown in the diagram. At the time
that flag S is displayed, the boats are between the last rounding mark and
the finishing line. Boats A and B approach the finishing line, see flag S and
sail the courses shown in the diagram.
Question 1
After the race committee shortens the course, are boats still required to leave
the windward mark to port and to ‘hook round’ it (as B does), or are they
required to cross the finishing line from the course side (as A does)?
Answer 1
After the race committee shortens the course, the windward mark is no
longer a rounding mark. It becomes a finishing mark (see rule 32.2(a)). To
comply with rule 28.1, boats must finish in accordance with the definition
Finish. Therefore, they must cross the finishing line from its course side.
A finishes in accordance with the definition; B does not finish.
Additional Facts for Question 2
Boat B requests redress claiming that positioning the committee vessel as
shown in the diagram was an improper action of the race committee because
it was not clear from reading the racing rules and the sailing instructions in
which direction boats were required to cross the finishing line.
Question 2
Was it an improper action of the race committee to anchor the committee
vessel displaying flag S where it did?
Answer 2
No (even though this action was not good race management practice). When
the course is shortened at a rounding mark, rule 32.2(a) permits the race
committee to position the vessel displaying flag S at either end of the
finishing line. Rule 28.1 clearly requires boats to cross the finishing line in
accordance with the definition Finish. The definition Finish cannot be
changed by the notice of race or the sailing instructions (see rule 86.1(b)).
World Sailing 2013