CASE 128
Definitions, Finish
Definitions, Sail the Course
Rule 28.2, Sailing the Race
Rule 31, Touching a Mark
Rule A4, Scoring System
Rule A5, Scores Determined by the Race Committee
If the race committee observes a boat make an error under
rule 28.1 in sailing the course and fail to correct that error,
it is required to score her NSC. If it observes a boat touch a
mark as she finishes, it must score in her finishing position
and it may protest her for breaking rule 31.
Facts for Question 1
All the boats in a race, with the exception of boat A, sailed to the finishing
line from the last mark and then finished by crossing the line from its course
side leaving the committee vessel to starboard and mark F to port. As shown
in the diagram, A left mark F to starboard, bore away, sailed completely to
the course side of the finishing line, and, shortly after position 3, finished.
A then sailed into the harbour. Members of the race committee observed A
sail the track shown in the diagram. The rules of Appendix A applied.
Question 1
What should the race committee do in this situation?
Answer 1
To comply with rule 28.1 a boat must ‘sail the course’, and therefore a string
representing her track must, when drawn taut, pass mark F on the required
side. A made an error under rule 28.1 at the line because the string
representing her track, when drawn taut, passes mark F on the wrong side.
A did not correct that error as permitted by rule 28.2, and therefore she broke
rule 28.1. Because A did not ‘sail the course’, rules A5.1 and A5.2 require
the race committee to score A for the finishing place one more than the
number of boats entered in the series. The abbreviation for her score is
‘NSC’ (see rule A10).
Facts for Question 2
The race committee observes boat B touch the finishing mark as she crosses
the finishing line. B does not take a penalty and sails into the harbour.
Question 2
What should the race committee do?
Answer 2
B finished when her bow crossed the finishing line just before position 2.
The race committee is required by rule A4 to score B points for the place in
which she finished.
As rule 60.2(a) states, the race committee may protest B. If it decides to do
so, it must inform her that it intends to protest and deliver its written protest
within the time limit of rule 61.3 (see rule 61.1(b)). In addition, the protest
committee, the technical committee or a boat, if the boat saw B touch the
mark, may protest B (see rules 60.1(a), 60.3(a) and 60.4(a)).
World Sailing 2013, revízia 2021