CASE 46
Definitions, Proper Course
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
A leeward boat is entitled to luff to her proper course, even
when she has established a leeward overlap from clear
astern and within two of her hull lengths of the windward
boat.
Facts
For some time, W had been sailing almost dead downwind on a straight
course towards the starboard end of the finishing line when L, a boat that
had been clear astern, became overlapped within two of her hull lengths to
leeward of W. In the absence of W, L would have sailed a higher course
directly towards the line. In order to do so, she hailed W to come up. There
was no response. L hailed again and luffed to a position very close to W,
but W still did not respond. L stopped luffing and bore away just before
contact would have occurred. L protested under rule 11.
The protest committee held that there was insufficient evidence to show that
W would have finished sooner by sailing a higher course. It said that even
though there might be conflict between the courses of a windward and a
leeward boat, a boat overtaking another from clear astern did not have the
right to force a windward boat to sail above her proper course. The protest
was dismissed and L appealed, claiming the right to luff to her proper course
under rule 17.
Decision
Rule 11 says that when two boats on the same tack are overlapped the
windward boat shall keep clear. A leeward boat’s actions, however, are
limited by rules 16.1 and 17. There was room for W to keep clear when L
luffed, and so L did not break rule 16.1. The protest committee, although it
did not say so explicitly, recognized that L’s proper course was directly
towards the finishing line. A direct course to the line was not only closer but
would also have put L on a faster point of sailing. While L was not entitled
to sail above her proper course, she was entitled to luff to her proper course,
even though she had established the overlap from clear astern while within
two of her hull lengths of W. Accordingly, L did not break rule 17.
W’s proper course is not relevant to the application of the rules to this
incident. She was required to keep clear of L. When L luffed, she gave W
room to keep clear as required by rule 16.1. At the moment L needed to stop
luffing and bear away to avoid contact, W broke rule 11. Therefore, L’s
appeal is upheld and W is disqualified for breaking rule 11.
USA 1979/224