CASE 51
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 43.1(a), Exoneration
A protest committee must find that boats were exonerated at
the time of the incident when, as a result of another boat’s
breach of a rule, they were compelled to break a rule.
Facts
The diagram shows the tracks of four large boats from approximately thirty
seconds before their starting signal until fifteen seconds before. At position
2, MW was forced to bear away to avoid collision with W, and almost
immediately afterwards ML and L were also forced to bear away to avoid
the boat to windward. There was no contact between any of the boats. Had
W steered a course to keep clear, she would have crossed the starting line
before her starting signal. Each boat to leeward hailed the boat to windward,
and each protested the boat or boats to windward of her.
The protest committee disqualified W, MW, and ML and justified its action
with respect to the middle boats by stating that ‘failure to do so would limit
the effectiveness of rule 11 because all boats, except the most windward
one, would be immune from disqualification.’ MW and ML both appealed.
Decision
Both appeals are upheld. MW and ML are to be reinstated. Both of them, by
their hails, attempted to avoid having to bear away, and neither bore away
before becoming obligated to do so to avoid contact with the boat
immediately to windward. Rule 14 required them to avoid contact if it was
‘reasonably possible’ to do so, and they complied with the rule. Each of
them broke rule 11, but each was compelled to do so because W broke rule
11. Therefore, each of them was exonerated by rule 43.1(a) at the time of
the incident.
USA 1950/37