CASE 12
Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.1, Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43, Exoneration
In determining the right of an inside boat to mark-room
under rule 18.2(b), it is irrelevant that boats are on widely
differing courses, provided that an overlap exists when the
first of them reaches the zone.
Facts
OL and IW were approaching a mark to be left to starboard. The wind was
light and there was a 2-knot current in the same direction as the wind. IW,
which had sailed high on the course to the mark to offset the effect of the
current, approached it with the current, almost on a run. OL, on the other
hand, had been set to leeward and, at position 1, about three hull lengths
from the mark, was sailing close-hauled slowly against the current. IW twice
hailed for water, and OL twice replied ‘You can’t come in here.’ At the last
moment, shortly after position 4 in the diagram, as IW luffed to begin her
passing manoeuvre OL tried to give her room but the two dinghies made
contact. There was no damage or injury.
OL protested under rule 11 but was herself disqualified under rule 18.2(b).
She appealed, asserting that it was illogical and beyond the intention of the
definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap and of rule 18 to consider
as overlapped two boats whose headings differed by 90 degrees. She also
asserted that the purpose of rule 18 was to protect a boat in danger of hitting
the mark that was unable to go astern of the outside boat. She further argued
that throughout IW’s approach to the mark until she finally luffed, she was
easily able to pass astern of OL, and that IW was not an ‘inside’ boat until
a moment before contact.
Decision
The boats were required to leave the mark on the same side and were on the
same tack, and so rule 18 applied after position 1 when OL reached the zone.
From that time until contact occurred, neither boat was clear astern of the
other and so they were overlapped (see the definition Clear Astern and Clear
Ahead; Overlap). Therefore the first sentence of rule 18.2(b) applied,
limiting the rights of OL, the outside boat, under rule 11 by requiring her to
give IW, the inside boat, mark-room. OL did not give IW mark-room, and
so is disqualified under rule 18.2(b).
IW broke rule 11, but did so while sailing within the mark-room to which
she was entitled, and therefore was exonerated by rule 43.1(b).
Both boats broke rule 14 because each of them could have avoided the
contact. However, because OL was the right-of-way boat and IW was
entitled to mark-room, and there was no damage or injury, both were
exonerated by rule 43.1(c) for breaking rule 14.
GBR 1964/19