CASE 27
Rule 2, Fair Sailing
Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 43, Exoneration
A boat is not required to anticipate that another boat will
break a rule. When a boat acquires right of way as a result
of her own actions, the other boat is entitled to room to keep
clear.
Facts
AS was clear ahead of BP when she reached the zone. Between position 1
and 2, AS, a hull length to leeward and a hull length ahead of BP, tacked as
soon as she reached the starboard-tack lay line. Almost immediately she was
hit and damaged by BP travelling at about ten knots. The protest committee
disqualified AS for breaking rule 15. It also disqualified BP under rule 2,
pointing out that she knew AS was going to tack but did nothing to avoid a
collision. BP appealed, asserting that she was not obligated to anticipate an
illegal tack.
Decision
After AS reached the zone, BP was required by rule 12 to keep clear of her
and by rule 18.2(b) to give her mark-room. Both these obligations ended
when AS passed head to wind (see rules 18.1(a) and 18.2(d)). When AS
passed head to wind, BP became the right-of-way boat under rule 13 and
held right of way until AS assumed a close-hauled course on starboard tack.
At that moment AS, having just acquired right of way under rule 10, was
required by rule 15 to give BP room to keep clear.
The collision occurred almost immediately after AS assumed a close-hauled
course on starboard tack. Therefore, BP needed to take avoiding action
before AS had borne away to a close-hauled course. At that time BP had
right of way under rule 13, and so AS broke rule 13.
It is a principle of the right-of-way rules, as stated in rule 15, that a boat that
becomes obligated to keep clear by an action of another boat is entitled to
sufficient time and space to respond. When AS acquired right of way under
rule 10, she did not give BP room to keep clear and broke rule 15. Finally,
AS broke rule 14 because she could have avoided the contact by turning
back onto port tack after she passed head to wind.
BP took no action to avoid the collision, but what could she have done? Rule
14 clearly states that a right-of-way boat need not act to avoid contact until
it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear. Given her speed and the
distance involved after it became clear that AS was not keeping clear, BP
had perhaps one to two seconds to decide what to do and then do it. While
it was obvious that AS would eventually tack to round the mark, no rule
required BP to anticipate that AS would break a rule.
BP did break rule 10, but she was exonerated for that breach by either rule
43.1(a) or rule 43.1(b). BP did not break rule 14 because it was not
reasonably possible for her to have avoided the collision after AS broke rule
13. BP did not violate any principle of sportsmanship or fair play and,
therefore, did not break rule 2.
BP’s appeal is upheld. She is to be reinstated. AS remains disqualified.
USA 1971/140