CASE 96
Rule 30.4 Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule
When after a general recall a boat learns from seeing her
sail number displayed that she has been disqualified by the
race committee under the second sentence of rule 30.4 and
believes the race committee has made a mistake, her only
option is not to start, and then to seek redress. However, if
the race committee does not display her sail number and she
sails in the restarted race, she should be scored BFD, and
not DNE.
Facts for Question 1
The race committee displayed the black flag as the preparatory signal for
the start of a class. Boat A’s hull was identified in the triangle formed by
the ends of the starting line and the first mark during the last minute before
her starting signal. After the starting signal, the race committee signalled a
general recall. The race committee disqualified A without a hearing for
breaking rule 30.4, and displayed her sail number before the next warning
signal for the race.
Question 1
If A believes that the race committee made a mistake when it identified her
in the triangle during the last minute, do the rules permit her to sail in the
race when it is restarted and then request redress?
Answer 1
Rule 30.4 clearly requires A not to sail in the restarted race and states that
her disqualification will become non-excludable if she does. Her only
remedy is to request redress, which, if given in a series, would normally be
based on her results in other races.
Facts for Question 2
The facts are the same as for Question 1 except that the race committee
failed to display A’s sail number before the next warning signal for the race,
and A sailed in the race when it was restarted.
Question 2
Is A entitled to a finishing place?
Answer 2
No. A should be disqualified as required by the second sentence of rule 30.4.
However, because the race committee erred by not displaying her sail
number between the general recall and the next warning signal for the race,
she should be scored BFD (Disqualification under rule 30.4), and not DNE
(Disqualification that is not excludable). If she requests redress claiming
that she is entitled to a finishing place because the race committee erred by
not displaying her sail number, her request should be denied. While not
displaying her sail number is an improper omission by the race committee,
it is not the omission that deprived her of her finishing place, but the fact
that she had been on the course side of the starting line in the minute before
her starting signal. However, if she was scored DNE, redress should be
granted to the extent of changing her score to BFD.
GBR 2000/1