CASE 14
Definitions, Proper Course
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 17.1, On the Same Tack; Proper Courser
Rule 43.1(c), Exoneration
When, owing to a difference of opinion about a leeward
boat’s proper course, two boats on the same tack converge,
the windward boat must keep clear. Two boats on the same
leg sailing near one another may have different proper
courses.
Facts
After rounding the windward mark in light wind the fleet divided, some
boats sailing towards shore to get out of the tide and others remaining
offshore in hopes of a better wind. L had established an overlap to leeward
of W from clear astern while within two of her hull lengths of W, and they
rounded the mark overlapped. W chose to remain offshore, while L began
to luff slowly and informed W of her intention to go inshore. W replied,
‘You have no right to luff.’ L replied that she was sailing her proper course
and W was required to keep clear. The discussion took some time. L
continued to gradually change course, and at no time did W state that she
was unable to keep clear. The boats touched and both protested. The protest
committee disqualified L under rule 17 for sailing above her proper course,
and she appealed.
Decision
When, owing to a difference of opinion on the proper course to be sailed,
two boats on the same tack converge, W is required by rule 11 to keep clear
and by rule 14 to avoid contact.
This case illustrates the fact that two boats on the same leg sailing very near
to one another can have different proper courses. Which of two different
courses is the faster one to the next mark cannot be determined in advance
and is not necessarily proven by one boat or the other reaching the next mark
ahead.
The basis for W’s protest was that L sailed above her proper course while
subject to rule 17. L’s defence and counter-protest were that she had decided
that the inshore course out of the tide would result in her finishing sooner
and that, therefore, the course she was sailing was her proper course. In
addition, L argued that W had broken rules 11 and 14.
The facts found do not show that L sailed above her proper course; therefore
she did not break rule 17. When L luffed slowly between positions 1 and 2,
W had room to keep clear, so L did not break rule 16.1. L could have avoided
contact with W. By not doing so, she broke rule 14, but was exonerated by
rule 43.1(c) for breaking it because she was the right-of-way boat and the
contact caused no damage or injury.
By failing to keep clear of L, W broke rule 11. W could have avoided the
contact, and by not doing so she too broke rule 14; but because she was not
sailing within the room to which she was entitled under rule 16.1, she was
not exonerated by rule 43.1(c).
L’s appeal is upheld. L is reinstated, and W is disqualified for breaking rules
11 and 14.
GBR 1966/3