CASE 114

Definitions, Mark-Room
Definitions, Room
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 18.2, Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
Rule 31, Touching a Mark

When a boat is entitled to room, the space she is entitled to includes space for her to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31.

Facts

Facts for Question 1

A, B and C are overlapped and on the same tack when the first of them reaches the zone of a mark. A is on the outside, C is on the inside and B is between them.

Question 1

Does rule 18.2(b) require A to give enough space to B to enable B to give mark-room to C?

Answer 1

Yes. The definition Mark-Room uses the defined term ‘room’, and room includes the space a boat needs to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31. The space that A is required to give to B includes the space B needs to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2. Therefore, rule 18.2 requires A to give B sufficient space for B to give C mark-room.

Facts for Question 2

L, M and W are overlapped and on the same tack with L to leeward, W to windward and M between them. L has no proper course restriction and she luffs. Both M and W luff in response to L’s luff.

Question 2

Does rule 16.1 require L to give enough space to M to enable M to give room to W to keep clear?

Answer 2

Yes. When M changes course to keep clear of L, rule 16.1 requires M to give W room to keep clear. The space that L is required to give to M includes the space M needs to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2. Therefore, rule 16.1 requires L to give M sufficient space for M to give W room to keep clear.

Facts for Question 3

The mark at the starboard end of the starting line is surrounded by navigable water. When approaching the starting line to start, L and W are overlapped on starboard tack. L is sailing a course that will pass sufficiently far from the mark that there is space for W to sail between L and the mark. W sails into the space that L freely gives. After W is alongside the mark L luffs, and by luffing promptly in response W keeps clear of L. However, in order to keep clear of L, W is compelled to touch the mark.

Question 3

Does L comply with rule 16.1?

Answer 3

No. W is required to keep clear under rule 11 and, as stated in the preamble to Section C, she is not entitled to room under rule 19 or mark-room under rule 18. However, when L changes course W is entitled to room to keep clear of L under rule 16.1, including the space W needs to comply with rule 31. L’s change of course does not give W sufficient space to avoid touching the mark. Therefore, L breaks rule 16.1 and, W is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for her breach of rule 31.

See also Case 146

Facts for Question 4

The same as the facts for Question 3 except that rule 31 has been deleted by the notice of race or the sailing instructions, and the mark is a committee vessel or other substantial object.

Question 4

Does L comply with rule 16.1?

Answer 4

No. A boat entitled to room under rule 16.1 is entitled to the space she needs to manoeuvre in a seamanlike way to keep clear. Touching such a mark risks damaging either the boat racing or the committee vessel, and taking such a risk is not seamanlike.

World Sailing 2010/revízia World Sailing 2013