CASE 06
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 16.2, Changing Course
A starboard-tack boat that tacks after a port-tack boat has
borne away to go astern of her does not necessarily break a
rule.
Facts
Between positions 1 and 2, P bore away to pass astern of S. A moment later
S chose to tack. After sailing free for about a hull length, P resumed her
close-hauled course, having lost about a hull length to windward, and passed
S a hull length to windward of her. After S tacked, P’s luff to close-hauled
was not caused by a need to keep clear of S. P protested S under rule 16.1.
P claimed that, when S tacked after P had borne away to pass astern of S, S
failed to give P room to keep clear. The protest committee disqualified S
under rule 16.1. S appealed.
Decision
S’s appeal is upheld. She is to be reinstated. S was subject to rule 16 only
while luffing from a close-hauled starboard-tack course to head to wind.
During that time P had room to keep clear, and so S did not break rule 16.1.
Rule 16.2 did not apply because it applies only when a boat in S’s position
bears away. In this case, S luffed. At the moment S turned past head to wind,
P became the right-of-way boat under rule 13, and rule 16.1 no longer
applied to S. S kept clear of P as required by rule 13. No rule was broken by
S.
USA 1963/93