CASE 111
Rule 30.2, Starting Penalties: Z Flag Rule
Rule 30.4, Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule
If a boat breaks rule 30.2 or rule 30.4 during a starting
sequence that results in a general recall, the race committee
is required to penalize her even if the race had been
postponed before that starting sequence or if, during a later
starting sequence, a postponement was signalled before the
starting signal.
Facts for Question 1
At the preparatory signal, the race committee displayed flag Z. Boat A’s hull
was identified in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting line and the
first mark during the last minute before her starting signal. After the starting
signal the race committee signalled a general recall. The race committee
then began a second starting sequence for that race and again displayed flag
Z as the preparatory flag. After removing the preparatory flag, but before
the starting signal, the race committee signalled a postponement. Later, the
race committee began a third sequence of signals and was successful in
starting the fourth race, and the race was completed.
A was given a 20% Scoring Penalty, and she requested redress on the
grounds that the race had been postponed – indeed, postponed twice – before
its starting signal and, therefore, under rule 30.2’s third sentence, she should
not have received the penalty.
Question 1
When the race committee imposed a 20% Scoring Penalty on boat A, did it
act properly under rule 30.2?
Answer 1
Yes. The first three sentences of rule 30.2 refer to a single starting sequence.
The starting sequence in which A was identified in the triangle formed by
the ends of the starting line and the first mark during the last minute before
her starting signal was not postponed or abandoned before its starting signal.
Therefore, the race committee acted properly under rule 30.2 when it
imposed a 20% Scoring Penalty on A. That action was not an improper
action, and A was not entitled to redress.
During the second starting sequence, if the hull of a boat had been identified
in the triangle between the time that the preparatory flag was removed and
the time that the postponement signal was made, then it would have been an
improper action under rule 30.2 to give that boat a 20% Scoring Penalty.
Facts for Question 2
The facts are the same as those in Question 1 except that the black flag was
used as the preparatory flag for the first and second attempted starts. Before
the warning signal for the second attempted start the race committee
displayed A’s sail number. A sailed in the starting area during the second
starting sequence and sailed in the race after the third starting sequence. A
was scored DNE for that race without a hearing.
Question 2
When the race committee scored A DNE without a hearing, did it act
properly under rule 30.4?
Answer 2
Yes. The reasoning in Answer 1 also applies here. The race committee acted
properly when it scored A DNE without a hearing, and A was not entitled
to redress.
During the second starting sequence, if the hull of a boat had been identified
in the triangle between the time that the preparatory flag was removed and
the time that the postponement signal was made, then it would have been an
improper action under rule 30.4 to disqualify that boat without a hearing.
World Sailing 2009