Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J5

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule D1.1, Deletion of Rule 18.4
Definition , Overlap


Question

Y and B are overlapped, running on port tack towards a leeward mark to be left to port. When inside the zone, Y gybes onto starboard and changes course towards B. B is forced to gybe, and Y then luffs B away from the mark. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty.

From position 2, B is required to give Y mark-room.

When Y gybes she acquires right of way and B must now also keep clear. Rule 18.4 is deleted by rule D1.1(c), so Y is under no obligation to gybe. Rule 17 does not apply and Y may sail above her proper course.

Y is entitled to luff from position 3 provided she gives B room to keep clear.