Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J6

Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Rule 18.1, When Rule 18 Applies
Definition , Overlap

Question 1

Y and B are overlapped and approaching a leeward mark that is to be left to port. Rule 17 does not apply to Y. At position 3, B luffs and breaks the overlap. At position 4, B gybes onto port and, before she changes tack, the boats become overlapped again. Y maintains her course and hails ‘Starboard’. B gybes to keep clear. There is a valid protest. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty. B bears away before gybing at position 4, and creates a new overlap. For a very short time B and Y are on the same tack, during which time Y is required by rule 17 not to sail above her proper course. When almost immediately thereafter B changes tack (position 4), rule 17 ceases to apply and remains inapplicable while the boats remain overlapped.

Question 2

Would the answer be the same if neither boat were in the zone?

Answer 2

Yes