Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J7

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43, Exoneration

Question

When Y reaches the zone of a downwind mark to be left to port, she is clear ahead of A, and overlapped with B to windward. Rule 17 does not apply between Y and B. Y luffs B away from the mark without breaking rule 16. Y remains inside the zone, and then gybes and returns to prevent A from rounding the mark inside her. After the gybe, Y luffs quickly, clearly above her proper course to round the mark, without giving A room to keep clear. There is contact between Y and A. There is a protest. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

Because A was clear astern of Y at the zone, rule 18.2(b) requires that she thereafter give Y mark-room. Furthermore, from position 4 when she becomes overlapped inside Y, rule 18.2(c) requires A to give Y room to sail her proper course. However, Y breaks rule 16.1 when she luffs and fails to give A room to keep clear and, because she is neither sailing her proper course nor rounding the mark, she is not exonerated underrule 43.1(b). As Y failed to give A the room she needed to keep clear, A is exonerated under rule 43.1(b) for breaking rule 11.

A boat entitled to mark-room is exonerated under rule 43 for breaking rule 16.1 when her change of course is consistent with sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled or, if rule 18.2(c) applies, when it is consistent with sailing her proper course.