Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J8

Rule 17, Proper course

Question

Approaching a leeward mark to be left to port, Y establishes a leeward overlap on B from clear astern before B enters the zone. Y then gybes onto port and, while still overlapped, gybes back onto starboard.

Y does not round the mark but continues on starboard, thereby sailing above a proper course.

B makes a valid protest. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty.

When Y first establishes the overlap, she is subject to rule 17 and may not sail above a proper course. Once Y gybes, rule 17 no longer applies as the boats are on opposite tacks.

When Y returns to starboard tack – rule 17 does not apply because once rule 17 has been switched off it never gets switched back on again during the same overlap. Y is entitled to sail above her proper course.