Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J9

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43, Exoneration

Question 1

X enters the zone at a leeward mark to be left to port clear ahead of A and Y. X slows down to leeward of the mark in an attempt to trap A outside of her and let teammate Y pass A. There is contact between all three boats and Y hits the mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize A and Y.

Y breaks rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c)(2) as she fails to give mark-room to X. She is not exonerated under rule 43.1(a) as she could have complied with those rules by passing the other side of the mark.

A breaks rules 11 and 18.2(c)(2) against X and rule 18.2(b) against both X and Y. In no case is she entitled to exoneration.

Although X is an obstruction to A and Y, rule 19 does not apply (see rule 19.1(b)).

Question 2

If Y sails the wrong side of the mark to avoid a multiple collision, would the call be the same?

Answer 2

No. Penalize A only. Y breaks no rule.