Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J10

Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Definitions, Mark-Room
Definitions, Sail the Course

Question

When Y enters the zone of a leeward mark B and Y are overlapped on starboard tack with Y inside. Y is subject to rule 17. After position 3, Y gybes to round the mark. B gybes at the same time into an overlap outside of Y. As Y is passing the mark, B luffs her above the course to the next mark. Y responds promptly and keeps clear. There is a protest. What should the call be?

Answer 1

No penalty.

When Y enters the zone she is overlapped inside B and rule 18.2(b) requires B to give Y mark-room thereafter. Y is entitled to room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course, as defined, and without touching the mark. A boat sails the course when a string representing her track and drawn taut passes the mark on the required side. B gives Y this room and room for Y to keep clear as required by rule 16.1. B breaks no rule.