Section K - The Finish

TR CALL K1

Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course
Rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties
Rule D1.1, Interfering with Another Boat
Rule D3, Scoring a Race
Definitions, Finish

Question 1

What are the obligations on a boat that has finished?

Answer 1

After a boat has finished, if she acts to interfere with a boat that has not finished she breaks rule D1.1(e). Such actions include luffing or backing her sails, or otherwise sailing in such a way that may slow the other boat or cause the other boat to avoid her. However, she does not break rule D1.1(e) if her actions cannot reasonably be avoided; for example, if she needs to tack to avoid contact with the finish boat or to keep clear of a right-of-way boat.

Question 2

Is there a required side of the finishing line to complete a penalty?

Answer 2

No. Rule 44.2 requires that, after the penalty is completed, the boat's hull must be completely on the course side of the finishing line before she crosses the finishing line to finish. See diagram.

Question 3

May a boat that has to take a penalty sail round a finishing mark while executing the penalty?

Answer 3

Yes. No rule prohibits this and her course still complies with rule 28.1. However, she must complete the penalty before she re-crosses the finishing line to finish.

Question 4

If a boat re-crosses the finishing line before completing her penalty, what should the race committee and the umpires do?

Answer 4

The umpires should judge whether the penalty was completed before crossing the finishing line and, if not, they should report this to the race committee.

If the boat fails to finish in accordance with the definition, she should be scored points equal to the number of boats entitled to race (see rule D3.1(a)).

A boat completes a penalty when, if she gybes first, she reaches a close-hauled course after tacking, or, if she tacks first, her mainsail fills on the new side after gybing.