Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J4

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 18.1, When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question

Boats Y on port tack and B on starboard are sailing parallel courses on a run and are approaching a starboard-hand leeward mark. Y is clear ahead when she reaches the zone. Y slows and B becomes overlapped outside her. Y now sails past the mark and luffs slightly. B has to change course and protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

When Y reaches the zone, she is on port tack and must keep clear. However, she is entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b).

At position 2, Y is sailing her course to the mark and the obligation on B to give her mark-room remains.

After position 3, Y is no longer sailing to the mark, nor is she rounding it. Y must keep clear under rule 10, and by causing B to change course Y fails to keep clear.