Section J - The Leeward Mark

TR CALL J3

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43, Exoneration

Question

B is on a reach clear ahead of Y when she enters the zone of a leeward mark. B’s course will take her to windward of the mark. She slows, and Y becomes overlapped to leeward and about ½ boat’s width from her. B now bears away hard to round the mark. Y reacts promptly, but is unable to give room. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

Y must give B room to sail to the mark. At position 2, she fails to do so and breaks rule 18.2(b).

When B bears away after position 2, she breaks rule 11 (a rule of Part 2 Section A). However, as B is sailing to the mark, she is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled and she is exonerated under rule 43.1(b).