Section M - The Umpiring Process

TR CALL M2

Rule D2.2, Protests by Boats

Question 1

There is a possible incident between boats B and Y, neither of which protest at that time. Another boat on B’s team shouts 'Protest! Go ahead and protest!' As a result of that advice, B protests. Is this protest valid?

Answer 1

No. Signal ‘No penalty’. In order to comply with rule D2.2(a), a boat intending to protest must hail the other boat and conspicuously display a red flag at the first reasonable opportunity for each. If the protest is made in response to the advice from another boat on her team, it is not at the first reasonable opportunity for each.

Question 2

A boat intends to protest, but fails to follow the correct procedure. She then continues to hail 'Umpire', seeking a decision to the invalid protest. What action should the umpires take?

Answer 2

Signal ‘No penalty’. Even though no valid protest has been submitted, it is appropriate to signal clearly to the competitor that no penalty will be given.