Section M - The Umpiring Process

TR CALL M1

Rule D1.2, Protests and Requests for Redress

Question 1

A member of one team witnesses contact between two boats on the other team and she protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Because there was contact between two boats on the other team, the boat is entitled to protest under rule 60.1 as modified by rule D1.2(a) although she was not involved in the incident. Penalize the boat that broke a rule.

Question 2

Boat A makes contact with boat Y and protests her. The umpires judge that a third boat B is at fault and has broken a rule. What should the call be?

Answer 2

Penalize boat B.

There is no requirement on the protesting boat to identify the boat that has broken a rule. Provided the protest is correctly made, the umpires will judge the incident, and penalize any boat(s) that have broken a rule.