Section L – Other Rules

TR CALL L4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack; Overlapped
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
D1.3, Penalties
Definitions, Proper Course

Question 1

X is sailing to get clear in order to take a penalty. Y is overlapped to leeward of both X and B and subject to rule 17 for both overlaps. Y and B are both sailing proper courses and Y will make contact with X if she maintains her course. Y luffs when she is two lengths from X and as a result Y and B pass astern of X. B keeps clear of Y and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize X. X is overlapped to windward of Y and is required to keep clear of her. As Y has to luff to avoid X, X fails to keep clear and breaks rule 11.

Although the incident is between X and Y, which are boats on the same team, it also involves B. It is only because X breaks rule 11 that Y’s proper course is to luff to avoid her and this luff directly affects B. If X was keeping clear of Y, Y’s luff would break rule 17. Therefore rule D1.3(d) does not apply and X is penalized.

Question 2

The circumstances in question 1 are the same, except that rule 17 does not apply between Y and B, and applies only between X and Y. What should the call be?

Answer 2

No penalty. With reference to her overlap with B, Y has right of way and is not subject to rule 17; therefore the umpires cannot assume that Y’s change of course is caused by the proximity of X. Although rule 17 applies between Y and X, Y complies with the rule as, when she luffs, she promptly sails astern of X.

When a boat changes course to avoid another boat on her team, if she only does so because the other boat is breaking a rule and as a direct result a boat on another team must change course, the incident is not solely between boats on the same team and rule D1.3(d) does not apply.