Section L – Other Rules

TR CALL L3

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
D1.2,Protests
D2.3,Penalties Initiated by an Umpire

Question

On a beat to windward, A is ahead of Y on port tack. B is on starboard tack on a collision course with A. Y is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of B. When 3 lengths from A, B bears away to a collision course with Y. Y does not immediately need to change course. When B passes astern of A, there is contact. Y tacks and protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize A.

The protest by Y is valid under rule D1.2(a) because there is contact between boats of the other team. Rule D1.3(d) does not apply. Penalize the boat that breaks a rule. In this case, A breaks rule 10.

If there is no protest, the umpires may act under rule D2.3(b) and penalize the boat that breaks a rule.