Section G – The Run
TR CALL G3
Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Definitions, Leeward and Windward
Definitions, Overlap
Definitions, Tack, Starboard or Port
Question 1
B and Y are overlapped on starboard tack on a very broad reach. Y is subject to rule
17. Without changing course, Y gybes, allowing her boom to go right across and her
sail to fill on the new tack. She then immediately gybes back and luffs B. B responds
to the luff and protests. What should the call be?
Answer 1
No penalty.
Because Y’s sail fills in a running position after the gybe, she is sailing by the lee, and
has therefore changed tack and rule 17 ceases to apply. When she gybes back onto
starboard tack, rule 17 does not apply.
Question 2
The circumstances are the same except that Y’s first 'gybe' is performed by pulling the
boom just across the centre-line, flicking the boom so the sail fills on the new side, and
then immediately pushing the boom back to the previous side. Y then luffs, B responds
and protests. What should the call be?
Answer 2
Penalize Y.
Y is never sailing by the lee. Therefore her windward side determines the tack she is
on. Because this does not change, she remains on starboard tack throughout the
manoeuvre and therefore breaks rule 17 when she luffs.