Section G – The Run

TR CALL G2

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped

Question

Two boats B and Y are running directly downwind, both on port tack. B, the leeward boat, gybes onto starboard without changing course, and her boom hits Y's boom. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y. Y breaks rule 10.

At position 1 Y is required by rule 11 to keep clear. After B gybes, Y is required by rule 10 to keep clear. B cannot have broken rule 16.1, because she does not change her course. As Y is keep clear boat throughout, rule 15 does not apply to B.