Section G – The Run

TR CALL G4

Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Definitions, Proper Course

Question 1

On a downwind leg, B and Y are overlapped on the same tack; B is subject to rule 17. B's course to finish as soon as possible is to gybe to sail in the direction of the next mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Rule 17 requires that B does not sail above her proper course. B must bear away no later than when necessary to finish as soon as possible in the absence of Y. When she delays beyond this point, she breaks rule 17 by sailing above her proper course. Penalize B.

However, if there is doubt whether or not B has reached the point where she must bear away to finish as soon as possible, she is still on a proper course; no penalty.

Question 2

As question 1 except that B bears away to a run but does not gybe. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 2

Penalize B. B is still sailing above her proper course and breaks rule 17.

On a downwind leg, a boat is sailing above her proper course when her proper course is to bear away, even if this requires her to gybe.