Section E - The Windward Mark
TR CALL E10
Rule 18.1, Mark-room; When Rule 18 applies
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule D1.1(b), Change to rule 18.2(b)
Question 1
Y on starboard tack and B on port tack, both close-hauled, are approaching a windward
mark to be left to starboard. B bears away and passes astern of Y. Y luffs slowly and
nearly stops head to wind with the mark abeam. While Y is luffing, B tacks to starboard
and bears away towards the mark. Y does not give B room at the mark, and B luffs to
avoid a collision. B protests. What should the call be?
Answer 1
When Y enters the zone, the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward and no
part of rule 18 applies. When B passes head to wind, she becomes overlapped inside Y
and entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(a). However, rule 18.2(f) applies because
the overlap was created by B tacking to windward of Y.
If Y is unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it and therefore she does
not break rule 18.2(a). B keeps clear as required by rule 11. No penalty.
If Y is able to give mark-room after B becomes overlapped, penalize Y for breaking
rule 18.2(a).
Question 2
Would the answer be different if Y is clear ahead when B passes head-to-wind?
Answer 2
Yes. Rule D1.1(b) applies and B is not entitled to mark-room. By luffing, B keeps
clear. No penalty.
Question 3
Would answers 1 and 2 be different if B completes her tack outside the zone?
Answer 3
No, provided Y is in the zone at that time.
Question 4
Y reaches the zone of a windward mark to be left to starboard clear ahead of B. Both
boats are on starboard tack. Y luffs slowly and nearly stops next to the mark. B luffs
and passes head to wind, and then passes head to wind again back onto starboard tack.
When B passes head to wind the second time, she is overlapped to windward of Y. Is
Y now required to give B mark-room?
Answer 4
No. B is required to give Y mark-room. At position 1, Y enters the zone clear ahead of
B. Therefore rule 18 applies and B is required to give Y mark-room under rule 18.2(b).
When B passes head to wind onto port tack at position 2, rule 18 no longer applies
because the boats are then on opposite tacks on a beat to windward; see rule 18.1(a).
When B passes head to wind again at position 3, the boats are once again on the same
tack, and rule 18 therefore applies.
Because Y was clear ahead when she reached the zone at position 1, rule 18.2(b)
requires the other boat thereafter to give her mark-room. This obligation remains in
force provided that:
(1) rule 18 applies, and
(2) rule 18.2(b) is not turned off by any of the conditions in 18.2(d).
Therefore, when the boats are again both on starboard tack and rule 18 reapplies, rule
18.2(b) still requires B to give mark-room to Y.