Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E11

Rule 17, On the Same Tack, Proper Course
Definitions, Proper Course

Facts

Y and B are sailing close hauled on starboard tack. Y is clear astern and slightly to windward of B.

Both boats sail beyond the layline to the mark and then bear away. At position 3 Y becomes overlapped from clear astern and to leeward of B. From this time the proper course for Y is to gybe. B protests.

Decision

Penalty Y.

When Y becomes overlapped to leeward of B, rule 17 begins to apply to Y. Her proper course is to bear away and gybe in order to sail to the mark. Y sails above her proper course and breaks rule 17.

See also Call G4