Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E3

Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question

B is on starboard tack at the zone of a starboard hand windward mark. She is half a length clear ahead and slightly to leeward of Y. At the mark B luffs and passes head to wind. Y then also luffs to round the mark, and as a result Y makes contact with B while Y is still on starboard tack. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Y.

When B passes head to wind rule 18.2(d) applies. Therefore B is no longer entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) and rule 18 no longer applies. Y becomes right-of-way boat subject to rule 16. When she luffs, she fails to give B room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1.