Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack; Overlapped
Rule 19, Giving Room at an Obstruction
Rule 20, Room to Tack at an Obstruction
Definitions, Obstruction

Question

Y and B are approaching a starboard-hand windward mark, overlapped and level, on port tack. Y, to leeward, is on the layline. B is on collision course with her team mate A who is on starboard tack. B hails Y for room to pass astern of A. Y gives her room, but as a result is forced to pass the wrong side of the mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty.

With respect to the windward mark, Y is inside boat and has right of way over B, so B must keep clear of Y and give her mark-room.

Y and B both have to keep clear of A, so A ranks as an obstruction to both. At position 2 Y and B are both about to pass the same side of A, so rule 19.2(b) applies. Y is outside boat and must give B room to pass astern of A.

Once Y has given B room to pass astern of A, B's obligation is to continue to keep clear of Y and to give her mark-room. Because Y is unable to pass the mark on the correct side, B’s only obligation is to keep clear, which she does.

Y does not have to make a substantial alteration of course to avoid A. If she hails for room to tack, she will break rule 20.1(a).