Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E2

Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43, Exoneration
Definitions, Mark-Room

Question 1

Approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on starboard tack, B and Y are overlapped and level at the zone. Y gives B sufficient room to luff to head to wind, but when B begins to tack, her stern swings and hits Y. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize Y.

Y is right-of-way outside boat when B reaches the zone, and must give B mark-room. Mark-room includes room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course. The definition mark-room also entitles B to room to tack because, at the time her course is to tack, she is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room. Y fails to give B mark-room and breaks rule 18.2(b). B is exonerated under rule 43.1(b) for breaking rule 13.

Question 2

At the same mark Y and B are just overlapped on starboard tack at the zone with Y behind. Y quickly becomes clear astern, but then changes course to be directly behind B. As B’s stern draws level with the mark, Y hails 'Don’t tack' and prevents B from tacking round the mark. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 2

No penalty.

Y is outside overlapped boat when B reaches the zone, and must give B mark-room. However, although B remains entitled to mark-room, at the time her course is to tack she is not overlapped to windward of Y and therefore the definition mark-room does not include room for her to tack. Y gives B mark-room and keeps clear of her as required by rule 12.

Question 3

Will answers 1 and 2 be the same if B had been clear ahead at the zone?

Answer 3

Yes.

When a boat is entitled to mark-room, room for her to round the mark as necessary to sail the course does not include room to tack unless, at the time her course is to tack, she is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the other boat and will be fetching the mark after her tack. This is true whether or not the boats were overlapped at the zone.

If contact occurs when a windward inside boat tacks, the contact may be evidence that the outside boat failed to give the inside boat the room she needed to tack.