Section E - The Windward Mark

TR CALL E1

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 12, On the Same Tack; Not Overlapped
Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 18.1, When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room

Question

Y and B are both close-hauled on port tack when B reaches the zone of a port-hand windward mark. B is clear ahead of Y. B luffs to tack around the mark, but the presence of Y prevents B from tacking and B protests. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty.

B is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, and Y must give her mark-room under rule 18.2(b). Y must also keep clear under rule 12. While Y is overlapped inside B, she must keep clear under rule 11 and must also give B room to sail her proper course under rule 18.2(c)(2), which she does.

However, mark-room does not include room for B to tack. See definition Mark-Room. If she passes head to wind, her entitlement to mark-room will cease as stated in rule 18.2(d). Simultaneously the boats will be on opposite tacks on a beat to windward and rule 18 will cease to apply as stated in rule 18.1(a). B will then need to keep clear under rule 13.