Section D - The Windward Leg

TR CALL D3

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way

Question

Y and B are sailing on port tack on a windward leg. B tacks onto starboard close to Y. When B completes her tack onto starboard, both boats immediately have to luff and tack away to avoid contact. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

No penalty. Neither boat breaks a rule. At position 3 B acquires right of way through her own actions and must initially give Y room to keep clear. By tacking back onto port, she gives Y room to keep clear.

If Y has to take avoiding action before B completes her tack, B breaks rule 13.

When B completes her tack, if the boats are so close that Y is not able to keep clear or if Y has to tack in an unseamanlike way, then B breaks rule 15

A boat acquiring right of way may comply with rule 15 by altering course herself. This principle applies on any leg of the course.