Section D - The Windward Leg

TR CALL D4

Rule 13, While Tacking
Rule 16.1, Changing Course

Question 1

B on starboard tack crosses ahead of Y on port tack on a windward leg. As Y passes B's stern, B luffs, and tacks onto port. Meanwhile, after sailing behind B and while B is still on starboard, Y luffs above close-hauled and heels to windward to make it difficult for B to complete her tack without making contact with Y. There is contact, and B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize B. After position 2 B gives up right of way, so rule 15 does not apply. Y establishes a leeward overlap either instantaneously or while B is subject to rule 13, so rule 17 does not apply. As Y does not alter course after position 2, rule 16.1 does not apply. B breaks rule 13.

Question 2

If Y luffs after B passes head to wind, and as a result there is contact, will the answer still be the same?

Answer 2

It depends. After B passes head to wind, rule 16.1 applies to Y when she changes course. If Y gives B room to keep clear, but contact occurs, B breaks rule 13. Penalize B.

If Y luffs without giving B room to keep clear even if B promptly reverses her tack, Y breaks rule 16.1. Penalize Y.