Section D - The Windward Leg

TR CALL D2

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 16.2, Changing Course
Definitions, Keep Clear

Question

On a windward leg in light winds, B on starboard and Y on port are on converging courses. At approximately three lengths from B, Y bears away to avoid B. B then bears away, so that the boats remain on a collision course. Both Y and B continue to bear away, until they finally pass one another with the wind approximately abeam. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize B. On a beat to windward, rule 16.2 prohibits a starboard tack boat from bearing away if that requires a port tack boat, that is keeping clear by sailing to pass to leeward of her, to have to change course immediately to continue keeping clear.

When Y starts bearing away she begins sailing to pass to leeward of B, even though her course is still above B’s stern. When B alters course between position 1 and 2, Y does not have to make an immediate change of course, so no rule is broken.

When B alters course between positions 2 and 3, Y must immediately change course to continue keeping clear and B breaks rule 16.2.

The expression 'sailing to pass to leeward' in rule 16.2 refers to the overall actions of the port-tack boat clearly attempting to pass to leeward of the starboard-tack boat, and not necessarily to the course or heading she is sailing at any moment.

When the wind is stronger or the boats are moving faster, if B performs a similar manoeuvre she will break rule 16.2 when further from Y.

[As a consequence of the change to rule 16.2, Q&A 2 in this call is deleted]