Section N - Protests and Penalties

MR CALL N5

Rule 23.2, Interfering with Another Boat

Question

Just after starting, Yellow, on port, bears away and gybes to take a penalty. Blue, also on port, but on a track to leeward of Yellow, tacks to starboard, and as a result is on a collision course with Yellow. Yellow is forced to change course to pass behind Blue before completing her penalty and displays flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer

Display the green and white flag. Rule 23.2 does not apply after the starting signal when a boat is sailing her proper course. Therefore, Blue may interfere with Yellow, provided Blue is sailing a proper course and does not break rule 16.1. She has a choice of proper courses and may therefore choose one that will maximise her interference with Yellow. Sailing on either tack can be a proper course.