Section N - Protests and Penalties

MR CALL N4

Rule C2.15 (41(e)), Outside Help
Rule 48.2, Limitations on Equipment and Crew
Rule C7.2(a), All Penalties

Question 1

A boat with an outstanding penalty is on a leg of a course to a windward mark. A crew member falls overboard. The boat bears away, gybes, luffs head to wind and retrieves the crew member. Has the boat taken her penalty?

Answer 1

Yes - provided the penalty turn meets the requirements of rule C7.2 (a).

Question 2

A boat with a penalty is penalized again. Part of the penalty would be within two of her hull lengths of a rounding mark were she to take the penalty immediately. What is she required to do before taking a penalty?

Answer 2

No, provided the return on board is at the approximate place where the crew member fell overboard. See rule C2.15 (41(e)).