Section N - Protests and Penalties

MR CALL N6

Rule C2.6 (13.1), While Tacking or Gybing
Rule C5.6, Signals by Umpires
Rule C7, Penalty System

Question

Yellow is required to take a tack penalty. May she take it by luffing until she passes head to wind, then turn back to a close-hauled course on her initial tack?

Answer

No, for the purpose of taking a penalty, tacking is to change course from closehauled on one tack, through head to wind, to close-hauled on the other.

As soon as Yellow passes head to wind rule C2.6 (13.1) applies and she must keep clear. Although rule C7.4(a) states that a boat with an outstanding penalty that is on a leg to a leeward mark or the finishing line and passes head to wind is taking a penalty, a boat attempting a penalty in the manner described does not comply with rule C7.2(a)(2) and the umpires shall signal that the boat is no longer taking a penalty and that the penalty remains under rule C5.6.