Section K - The Finish

MR CALL K4

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2), Giving Mark-Room (not overlapped)
Rule43.1(b)(2), Exoneration (room or mark-room)
Definitions, Mark-Room (rule C2.2) and Proper Course (rule C2.3)

Question

Blue has an outstanding penalty. Blue enters the zone of the finishing mark clear ahead of Yellow, and never thereafter leaves the zone. Shortly after position 3 Yellow establishes an inside overlap on Blue. Blue gybes to port and then closes the gap between the boats by heading up and aiming directly at the finishing flag on the race committee vessel.

There is contact between Blue and Yellow with no damage. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer

Blue was clear ahead when she reached the zone and rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)) began to apply. From position 1 and throughout the incident, Yellow is required to give Blue mark-room, which is room for Blue to sail her proper course.

If the umpires decide that Blue is sailing a proper course, penalize Yellow for breaking rule 18.2(a)(2). Blue is exonerated for breaking rule 10 by rule 43.1(b). If Blue is sailing above her proper course, penalize Blue for breaking rule 10.