Section K - The Finish

MR CALL K3

Rule C5.6, Signals by Umpires
Rule C7.2(a)(2), All Penalties
Rule C7.4(b), Taking and Completing Penalties
Definitions, Finish (rule C2.1)

Question

Blue has a penalty outstanding as she approaches the finishing line. She lowers her spinnaker, luffs, passes head to wind, bears way to a close-hauled course on the other tack, reverses her mainsail and sails backwards across the finishing line, now above close-hauled. Has she finished?

Answer

No. Blue cannot finish until she has completed her penalty (see the definition Finish (rule C2.1)). She has not borne away to a course that is more than ninety degrees from the true wind as required by rule C7.2(a)(2). The umpires will signal as required in rules C7.4(b) and C5.6 that the boat is no longer taking a penalty and that the penalty remains.