Section K - The Finish
MR CALL K2
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room (not overlapped)
Rule 21.2, Starting Errors; Taking Penalties; Backing A Sail
Rule 43.1, Exoneration
Question
Yellow enters the zone of the finishing mark clear ahead of Blue, and is taking a
penalty around the finishing mark. As Yellow tacks and bears away on port, Blue,
approaching the mark on starboard, bears away and gybes to port. Flag Y is
displayed. What should the call be?
Answer
Because Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Blue, she is entitled to mark-room
under rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)). When Yellow passes head to wind rule 18.2(a)(2)
continues to apply, but as Yellow also begins taking a penalty, she must keep clear
of Blue under rule 21.2 until she completes her penalty by bearing away to a course
that is more than ninety degrees from the true wind. Although Yellow is sailing
within the mark-room to which she is entitled, she is not exonerated for her breach
of rule 21.2 by rule 43.1(b) (because rule 43.1(b) does not include rules in Section
D), or rule 43.1(a) (because Yellow was not compelled to break rule 21.2).
If Blue is required to take avoiding action before Yellow completes her penalty,
Yellow is not keeping clear under rule 21.2, even if Blue is also changing course to
give mark-room. Signal that Yellow has completed her penalty and penalize Yellow
again for breaking rule 21.2. See MR Call N7.
If Blue’s change of course is not required until after Yellow completes her penalty,
display the green and white flag.