Section K - The Finish

MR CALL K1

Rule 28.1, Sailing the Race
Rule C7.2, All Penalties
Definitions, Finish (rule C2.1) and Sail the Course

Question 1

When a boat delays taking her penalty until the finish, is she allowed to take it around the finishing mark?

Answer 1

Yes. Although she sails through the finishing line, she does not finish under the definition Finish (C2.1) because she has not yet completed her penalty. Her penalty is to tack and, as soon as reasonably possible, bear away to a course that is more than ninety degrees from the true wind in accordance with rule C7.2(a)(2). See also rule C7.2(d).

Question 2

Did she comply with rule 28.1, Sailing the Race?

Answer 2

Yes. Rule 28.1 requires a boat to ‘sail the course’. The definition ‘Sail the Course’ requires that ‘a string representing her track ...passes each mark ... on the required side ...’ which it did. The rule or definition do not prohibit a boat from rounding a finishing mark, or any other mark, even though, as a result her track would pass it on the required side twice.