Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E3

Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)), Giving Mark-Room
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)
Definitions , Mark-Room (rule C2.2)

Question 1

Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Blue. Both boats tack and continue to round the mark. Blue becomes overlapped inside Yellow. Both boats display flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer 1

When Yellow enters the zone, rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)) applies until Yellow has rounded the mark.

At position 6, Yellow has not yet completed rounding the mark. If Yellow cannot sail her proper course around the mark without needing to avoid Blue, Blue breaks rule 18.2(a)(2). Penalize Blue. If Yellow at the same time breaks a rule, she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b).

If Yellow is able to sail her proper course around the mark with no interference, display the green and white flag.

Question 2

Yellow and Blue enter the zone overlapped. Both boats tack and continue to round the mark. Blue becomes overlapped inside Yellow. Yellow’s boom touches Blue’s hull. Both boats display flag Y. What should the call be?

Answer 2

Penalize Blue. See Answer 1, except that rule 18.2(a)(1) is the applicable rule.