Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E2

Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room(not overlapped)
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)

Question

Blue and Yellow approach the windward mark on port tack with Blue clear ahead at the zone. The mark is to be rounded to starboard. After passing the mark, Blue immediately gybes onto starboard tack. How far beyond the mark may Blue sail before gybing and still be entitled to mark-room?

Answer

Blue is entitled to room to sail her proper course to round or pass the mark on the required side (see rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)).

At position 3, Blue is on the next leg of the course and the mark is clear astern of her. Therefore, Yellow has given Blue mark-room as required and rule 43.1(b) no longer applies. If Blue gybes after this point, she will be subject to rule C2.6 (13.2) and then rules 15 and 16.1.