Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E1

Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule C2.6 (13.2), While Tacking or Gybing
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)), Giving Mark-Room(not overlapped)
Rule 43.1(b), Exoneration (room or mark-room)
Definitions C2.2, C2.3, Mark-Room (rule C2.2) and Proper Course (rule C2.3)

Question 1

Yellow and Blue are approaching the windward mark on port tack. Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Blue. Yellow then luffs above her proper course before rounding the mark. Blue bears away to a course between Yellow and the mark. Yellow gybes onto starboard. When next to the mark and while sailing her proper course, Yellow is forced to bear away to avoid Blue.

Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize Blue.

When Yellow enters the zone clear ahead, rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(2)) applies and requires Blue to thereafter give Yellow mark-room. Mark-room is room for Yellow to sail her proper course to round or pass the mark. When Yellow luffs after position 2, she is not sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, and therefore rule 16.1

requires her to give Blue room to keep clear. Yellow gives room and Blue keeps clear.

From position 3 to position 5, Yellow is sailing her proper course, which includes gybing at position 5. Throughout this time Blue is required under rule 18.2(a)(2) to give Yellow room to sail her proper course, which she fails to do.

Blue has neither given Yellow mark-room, nor allowed her to sail her proper course. Penalize Blue and if Yellow at the same time breaks rule C2.6 (13.2), she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b).