Section E - The Windward Mark

MR CALL E4

Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1, Changing Course
Rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)), Giving Mark-Room (overlapped)
Definitions , Mark-Room (rule C2.2)

Question

Blue and Yellow approach the windward mark overlapped on port tack with Yellow to leeward and on the layline at the zone. Before Yellow rounds the mark she luffs head to wind. Blue responds to the luff and keeps clear. Flag Y is displayed. What should the call be?

Answer

Display the green and white flag.

Blue is required by rule 11 to keep clear and by rule C2.9 (18.2(a)(1)) to give markroom, and she does so. When Yellow luffs, she is not sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled; therefore rule 16.1 requires her to give Blue room to keep clear. However, nothing in the rules prevents Yellow from sailing above her proper course while the boats are rounding or passing the mark.