Section M - The Umpiring Process
TR CALL M7
Rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties
Rule D1.3, Penalties
Rule D2.3, Penalties Initiated by an Umpire
Rule D2.4, Signals by an Umpire
Rule D2.5, Penalties Imposed by Umpires
Facts
At the start of a race, B is OCS and has been given a two-turns penalty under rule D2.5.
B immediately bears away, gybes and tacks, but then sails towards the pin end of the
starting line before she again bears away, gybes around the mark and then tacks.
Question 1
Has B taken her penalty correctly?
Answer 1
No. Rule 44.2 requires B to make two turns promptly and in the same direction. By
breaking away after the first turn and sailing to a different area, B has not promptly taken
a Two-Turns Penalty. Therefore she has not complied with rule 44.2.
Question 2
What action should the umpires take?
Answer 2
B failed to take the penalty in accordance with rule 44.2 and has not complied with rule
D2.5. Rule D2.6(a) states that other boats cannot protest this breach. The umpires should
act under rule D2.3(f) and signal a further penalty on B in accordance with rule D2.4(b).
Question 3
Would the procedures be the same if, after an incident, B is not penalized by the umpires
but clearly indicates that she will take a voluntary penalty, and then fails to take a penalty
that complies with rule 44.2?
Answer 3
Yes. After the incident B clearly indicates that she will take a penalty which she fails to
take in accordance with rule 44.2. B breaks rule D1.3(b). Rule D2.3(e) applies and the
umpires should penalize B in accordance with rule D2.4(b).