Section L – Other Rules

TR CALL L9

Rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room
Rule D1.3, Penalties
Rule D2.2, Protests by Boats

Question

B and Y are overlapped when B enters the zone of a leeward mark. B sails a course to pass close to the mark and, to avoid a collision, Y sails the wrong side of the mark. Y protests. She then tacks and gybes in order to round the mark on the required side. What should the call be?

Answer

Penalize B.

The course sailed by Y after position 3 was consistent with the requirement to avoid contact and then continue in the race by rounding the mark on the required side. Y broke no rule. Y's course was a direct consequence of the failure of B to give her markroom and B broke rule 18.2(b). Therefore the tack and gybe by Y were not a one-turn penalty. No boat took a penalty and rule D2.2(c) applies.